< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Twenty20 2012 Review - A Win For The People

Darren Sammy with the WT20 trophy
Darren Sammy poses with the WT20 trophy after leading the West Indies to victory in Colombo
©REUTERS / Action Images

The ICC World Twenty20 2012 saw the West Indies end their long wait for a global trophy while Australia held on to beat England in the Women's final.

Sri Lanka so nearly became the first nation to host and win the men's tournament, but they were eventually beaten by 36 runs. They started the final strongly only to fade as West Indies' power players took control.

Marlon Samuels played a leading role and it was his 78 in 55 balls that helped his side post 137 for six. At the halfway stage, they had been 32 for two.

ICC WT20 2012 - Leading run-scorers

Shane Watson (Aus) - 249
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) - 243
Marlon Samuels (WI) - 230
Chris Gayle (WI) - 222
Brendon McCullum (NZ) - 212

Sri Lanka fought hard, but losing Mahela Jayawardene, who would eventually top score with 33, proved pivotal, and they were bowled out for 101. Sunil Narine took three for nine, capitalising as threatening rain clouds interfered with Sri Lanka's strategy.

The women's final was much closer, where Australia defended 142 for four to win by four runs, England closing on 138 for nine meaning Australia were the first side (male or female) to successfully defend an ICC WT20 title.

Charlotte Edwards finished as the leading run-scorer and Australia's Julie Hunter the leading wicket-taker as the West Indies, just as they had in 2010, reached the semi-finals along with New Zealand.

Just like the women's event, the men's tournament was played in the same format as the first three and there were few early surprises as Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland and Zimbabwe failed to progress to the Super Eights.

ICC WWT20 2012 - Leading run-scorers

Charlotte Edwards (Eng) - 172
Jess Cameron (Aus) - 151
Meg Lanning (Aus) - 138
Sarah Taylor (Eng) - 138
Poonam Raut (Ind) - 135

Ireland could consider themselves hard done-by with their game against the West Indies ruined by the weather but the other three teams were outclassed, Brendon McCullum helping himself to a century against Bangladesh, Afghanistan pummelled by England and India and Zimbabwe were no match for Sri Lanka or South Africa.

The Super Eights began with a thriller in Group 1 when a Super Over was needed for Sri Lanka to beat New Zealand after both teams hit 174.

New Zealand would come out second best in another Super Over later on against the West Indies, for whom Samuels bowled and batted in the eliminator. The Black Caps failed to register a win at this stage and were on their way home.

The West Indies beat England by 15 runs, and the reigning champions kept their hopes alive by beating New Zealand, only to exit when they were beaten by Sri Lanka.

ICC WT20 2012 - leading wicket-takers

Ajantha Mendis (SL) - 15
Shane Watson (Aus) - 11
Mitchell Starc (Aus) - 10
Lakshmipathy Balaji (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Sunil Narine (WI) - 9

Sri Lanka thrashed the West Indies by nine wickets and both sides went through to the semi-finals.

In Group 2, Australia, India and Pakistan all finished level on 4 points with South Africa losing all three of their games.

Shane Watson half-centuries were too good for India and South Africa before Pakistan beat Australia by 32 runs. However, Australia got close enough to ensure they went through at India's expense. A thrilling one-run won over the Proteas for the 2007 winners was not enough.

Their comprehensive eight-wicket win over Pakistan would be their tournament highlight.

Jayawardene hit 42 and Rangana Herath took three wickets as Sri Lanka made their second final by beating Pakistan by 16 runs in the first semi-final.

ICC WWT20 2012 - leading wicket-takers

Julie Hunter (Aus) - 11
Holly Colvin (Eng) - 9
Erin Bermingham (NZ) - 7
Stafanie Taylor (WI), Ellyse Perry (Aus) - 6

Chris Gayle then blasted 75 in 41 balls to haul the West Indies to a score of 205 for four against Australia, who were subsequently dismissed for just 131.

The final took a while to get going, but in the end, the West Indies were deserved victors - Samuels' calculated gamble to take on Lasith Malinga paying off handsomely and Narine bowling magnificently.

Following the win, captain Darren Sammy said the victory was a 'win for the people' of the Caribbean. It was one that was certainly well received.

And for the first time since 1979, the West Indies could call themselves world champions.

© Cricket World 2014