ICC WT20: Australia Name Preliminary ICC World Twenty20 Squad

Symonds In Australia Preliminary ICC World T20 Squad
Symonds In Australia Preliminary ICC World T20 Squad
©REUTERS/Andy Clark (ST KITTS) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bookmark and Share

All-rounder Andrew Symonds has been included in Australia's preliminary 30-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 which takes place in June.

Symonds, who has been undergoing counselling following a number of off-field incidents but he has been deemed ready to return, so long as he is fit and in form.

"Cricket Australia and Andrew have been speaking, as have members of the team leadership group, and we are satisfied he is committed to doing the things needed of an Australian international cricketer," Cricket Australia (CA) CEO James Sutherland commented.

The ICC World Twenty20 is the only international tournament Australia have failed to win, losing in the semi-finals of the inaugural event in South Africa in 2007.

“The World Twenty20 is an icon event which Australia has been preparing for since our slightly disappointing performance in the initial tournament," Andrew Hilditch, chairman of selectors said.

“When picking the squad we have had regard to the performance of our Australian players in their limited games in Twenty20 cricket at international level and also the outstanding performances of our interstate cricketers during the KFC Big Bash.

“Most of the players chosen already have international experience, but the squad does include Aaron Heal who has bowled particularly well in One Day cricket this year for Western Australia. His inclusion is recognition of the significant impact spinners are having in Twenty20 cricket worldwide. We have also chosen a second wicket-keeper, Graham Manou. Graham has had an outstanding season and was named as the wicket-keeper in the Johnnie Walker ACA teams of the year in all three forms of the game.

“Andrew Symonds has been made available for selection by Cricket Australia and joins the squad of 30. At his best Andrew is one of the most dynamic Twenty20 players in the world and his progress will be monitored leading up to the selection of the final 15.

“The squad includes Shaun Tait, Shane Watson, Brett Lee and Shaun Marsh all who are currently recovering from injuries. Shaun Marsh has from all reports now made a full recovery from his hamstring injury and Shane Watson has resumed cricket with the intention of resuming bowling during May in preparation for potential selection in the World Twenty20 final 15. The recovery from injury of Brett Lee and Shaun Tait will be carefully monitored in the next few weeks prior to the final selection."

The Australians also named a 30-woman strong preliminary squad for the Women's tournament, which runs alongside the men's event.

“The squad has depth in all areas and will ensure that selection in the final squad of 14 will be highly competitive," Marg Jennings, chairperson of the Women's National Selection Panel commented.

"The squad contains a number of young players who will press for selection following the retirements of Emma Sampson and Leonie Coleman after the World Cup.

“While our World Cup result was disappointing, we feel we have the players to rebound quickly and perform strongly at the World Twenty20.

“The tournament will be an exciting moment for women’s cricket and the WNSP we’ll be looking very closely at those players we think can be successful in the shorter form of the game.

“This presents a chance for players who have not represented Australia to step up to international cricket.”

Australia finished fourth in the 2009 World Cup on home soil.

Australia Men: Ricky Ponting (captain), Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Shane Harwood, Nathan Hauritz, Aaron Heal, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Graham Manou, Shaun Marsh, Robert Quiney, Peter Siddle, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White

Australia Women: Karen Rolton (captain), Sarah Aley, Sarah Andrews, Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Kate Blackwell, Melissa Bulow, Jessica Cameron, Jude Coleman, Sarah Coyte, Lauren Ebsary, Sarah Edwards, Rene Farrell, Jodie Fields, Corinne Hall, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Emma Inglis, Jessica Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Shelley Nitschke, Erin Osbourne, Ellyse Perry, Kirsten Pike, Leah Poulton, Lisa Sthalekar, Selena Tainton, Jo-Ann Varrell, Ellyse Villani, Julie Woerner

© cricket World 2009