ICC WT20: New Zealand Name 15-Man Squad

New Zealand Name 15-Man Squad For World Twenty20
New Zealand Name 15-Man Squad For World Twenty20
©REUTERS/Anthony Phelps (NEW ZEALAND) Picture Supplied by Action Images

New Zealand have named a final 15-man squad for the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 in England in June with all-rounder Brendon Diamanti the only uncapped player in the squad.

Peter McGlashan, James Franklin, Kyle Mills and Scott Styris come into the squad as the only other players who did not take part in the 2-0 series win over India earlier this year.

“We’re really not sure what conditions will prevail in early June,” chief selector Glenn Turner said. “But being able to take 15 players means we have hopefully been able to cover all angles.

“In selecting the side we have been particularly conscious of selecting players in the middle and lower order who are boundary hitters.

“We have retained aggressive but more orthodox batsman in the top order – and we’re looking for that extra aggression lower down the order as well.”

The tournament kicks off on June 5th with New Zealand in Group D alongside Scotland and South Africa.

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Brendon Diamanti, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Iain O'Brien, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor

Reserves: Peter Ingram, Shanan Stewart, Aaron Redmond, Craig Cumming, Peter Fulton, Jamie How, James Marshall, Gareth Hopkins, Grant Elliott, Ewen Thompson, Tim Southee, Michael Mason, Warren McSkimming, Chris Martin, Jeetan Patel.

© Cricket World 2009