ICC WT20: South Africa Maintain Winning Run

ICC WT20: South Africa Maintain Winning Run
ICC WT20: South Africa Maintain Winning Run
©Action Images / Scott Heavey Livepic

South Africa 183-7 (Gibbs 55, Taylor 3-30) beat
West Indies 163-9 (Simmons 75, Parnell 4-13) by 20 runs

ICC World Twenty20 Group E, The Brit Oval

South Africa maintained their winning form in the ICC World Twenty20 by beating the West Indies by 20 runs at The Brit Oval.

Herschelle Gibbs top scored with 55 as South Africa reached 183 for seven and Wayne Parnell picked up four for 13 as the West Indies were held to 163 for nine.

Gibbs was in sublime form, but his innings of 55 in 35 balls was well supported by Graeme Smith (31) and Jacques Kallis (45), who put on 54 for the first wicket in 5.5 overs.

Gibbs then hit eight fours and a six with shots all round the wicket before the West Indies rallied, led by Jerome Taylor, who picked up three for 30 to remove AB de Villiers (17), Albie Morkel (10) and Roelof van der Merwe (1) as South Africa's innings stalled slightly.

Mark Boucher gave them some late impetus with 17 not out in 12 balls as Fidel Edwards, Sulieman Benn, Keiron Pollard and Lendl Simmons all picked up a wicket.

Simmons, fast developing into an all-round star for the West Indies, was then outstanding with the bat, striking 77 in 50 balls to keep his side in the game.

Parnell's left-arm pace accounted for Andre Fletcher, clean bowled for a duck, and then Chris Gayle (5), caught by Johan Botha.

Dwayne Bravo put on 57 for the third wicket with Simmons, making 19 before he was caught by JP Duminy off van der Merwe and after that, only Sulieman Benn (13 not out) could reach double figures.

Simmons cracked 12 fours and one six, just like Gibbs scoring his runs all around the wicket before he holed out to AB de Villiers as van der Merwe picked up his second wicket.

Parnell returned to have Pollard (8) caught by Smith and Taylor bowled for a golden duck and although he couldn't pick up a five-wicket haul, the damage had already been done.

© Cricket World 2009