ICC WT20: Sri Lanka Thump New Zealand To Win Through

ICC WT20: Sri Lanka Thump New Zealand To Win Through
ICC WT20: Sri Lanka Thump New Zealand To Win Through
©Action Images / Lee Smith Livepic

Sri Lanka 158-5 (Dilshan 48, Jayawardene 41no) beat
New Zealand 110 (Guptill 43, Mendis 3-9, Udana 2-17) by 48 runs

ICC World Twenty20 Group F, Trent Bridge
By Peter Exley

Sri Lanka cruised through to the semi-finals of the ICC World Twenty20 with a 48-run win over New Zealand at Trent Bridge.

The Black Caps were asked to field first and got off to the best start possible with Nathan McCullum dismissing Sanath Jayasuriya (0) in the first over. Chamara Silva (13) soon followed the veteran back to the dugout, but Kumar Sangakkara (35) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (48) steadied the ship somewhat with a partnership of 62.

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori took two for 32 from his four overs during the middle period of the innings, but it was Jayawardene that propelled the stuttering innings to a respectable total. His 41 from 29 balls took Sri Lanka to 158 for five from their 20 overs, the par score for this Trent Bridge pitch.

Sri Lanka followed the New Zealander’s trend and opened the bowling with spin in the form of Jayasuriya, although it did not bring the success that McCullum had in the first innings and Aaron Redmond took him to the cleaners hitting 20 off the over.

New Zealand were off to a flyer and Martin Guptill was going well finishing with 43 from just 34 balls when he was caught in the deep by Angelo Mathews from the bowling of Jayasuriya. This signalled the start of a collapse and New Zealand lost six wickets for just 17 runs, mainly thanks to the mystery spin of Ajantha Mendis who finished with the remarkable figures of three for nine from three overs.

New Zealand were never in the game after that as Sri Lanka’s bowlers proved much too strong for them. Sri Lanka topped their group and will now face either South Africa or the West Indies in the semi finals. New Zealand, however, can now look forward to a long flight home.

© Cricket World 2009