Illingworth, Reiffel Promoted To Elite Panel

Billy Bowden gives a batsman out
Illingworth, Reiffel Promoted To Elite Panel
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) have promoted Australian Paul Reiffel and Englishman Richard Illingworth to the Elite Panel of umpires.

Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Steve Davis, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford and Rod Tucker remain on the list as New Zealander Billy Bowden and Pakistani Asad Rauf are replaced.

Illingworth first umpired international cricket in July 2010, going on to stand in four Tests, 16 One-Day Internationals and seven Twenty20 Internationals while Reiffel began in January 2009, to date standing in four Tests, 30 ODIs and nine T20Is.

"It is exciting to see Richard and Paul promoted to the elite panel, but it is also important to acknowledge and appreciate the outstanding contributions of Asad and Billy over a long period of time," Geoff Allardice, ICC's General Manager - Cricket, said.

"The selection panel considered the overall performances of the umpires over the past 12 months when deciding which umpires would be offered contracts for 2013-14. In Asad’s case, it is important to emphasize that the recent speculation linking his name to the IPL spot-fixing investigation was not considered during the selectors’ deliberations."

Bowden had been on the Elite Panel since 2003 and Rauf, who was stood down from the Champions Trophy 2013 after he was reportedly under investigation for corruption during the Indian Premier League 2013, joined the Elite Panel in 2006.

© Cricket World 2013