< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v Aus, 2nd T20I: Rohit Sharma leads from the front as India levels series

Rohit Sharma (46)
Rohit Sharma (46)

India levelled the three-match T20I series against Australia with a six-wicket win in the second game at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Friday night.

In a game hit by rains and wet outfield, play started two and a half hours late. The game was reduced to eight overs an side.

Asked to bat, Australia made 90 for five in their eight overs and in response India chased down the target in 7.2 overs to finish on 92 for four.

Earlier, Australia lost their top-order early to be reduced to 19 for two. Then captain Aaron Finch held the innings together. He made 31 off 15 balls with four boundaries and a six. Later, Matthew Wade used the long handle to good effect to remain unbeaten on 43 off 20 balls. Wade hit four boundaries and three sixes. In the end Australia finished on 90 for five in their eight overs. For India the main wicket-taker was Axar Patel (2-13).

In their response, India started off briskly. Lokesh Rahul fell first with the score on 39. Then captain Rohit Sharma took charge of the chase. Virat Kohli walked in and hit two boundaries. But Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav fell off successive deliveries. Then Sharma added 22 runs with Hardik Pandya. With nine runs needed off six balls, Dinesh Karthik hit a six and a four to finish the game. India chased down the score in 7.2 overs to finish on 92 for four. For Australia the best bowler was Adam Zampa (3-16).

The third and final T20I will be played on Sunday at Hyderabad. 

Match Summary
Australia: 90-5 (8)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Cameron Green-1.3 ov), 2-19 (Glenn Maxwell-1.6 ov), 3-31 (Tim David-3.1 ov), 4-46 (Aaron Finch-4.6 ov), 5-90 (Steven Smith-7.6 ov)

India: 92-4 (7.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-39 (KL Rahul-2.5 ov), 2-55 (Virat Kohli, 4.2 ov), 3-55 (Suryakumar Yadav, 4.3 ov), 4-77 (Hardik Pandya, 6.5 ov)


 Result: India won by six wickets  

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Cameron Green, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Daniel Sams, Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur
Start time: 1600 hrs GMT
Match Officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary; Javagal Srinath (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World