< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v Eng 2nd Test Day 3: Ashwin smashes hundred to put England on the brink

Ravichandran Ashwin hit a masterful hundred
Ravichandran Ashwin hit a masterful hundred

Ravichandran Ashwin stroked a delightful hundred to help India take total stranglehold of the second Test against England in the Anthony D'Mello Trophy.

Match Summary - India v England, 2nd Test Day 3

India 1st Innings: 329 (95.5)

England 1st Innings: 134 (59.5)

India 2nd Innings: 286 (85.5)
Fall of wickets: 2-55 (Cheteshwar Pujara-18.6 ov), 3-55 (Rohit Sharma-21.1 ov), 4-65 (Rishabh Pant-25.3 ov), 5-86 (Ajinkya Rahane-30.3 ov), 6-106 (Axar Patel-36.1 ov), 7-202 (Virat Kohli-65.4 ov), 8-210 (Kuldeep Yadav-67.6 ov), 9-237 (Ishant Sharma-76.4 ov), 10-286 (Ravichandran Ashwin-85.5 ov)

England 2nd Innings: 53-3 (19)
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Dom Sibley-8.2 ov), 2-49 (Rory Burns-15.6 ov), 3-50 (Jack Leach-16.6 ov)

Stumps - England need another 429 runs, India need seven wickets


On Monday, Ashwin struck 106 off 148 balls with 14 boundaries and a six in 235 minutes to help India post 286. England set a target of 482 runs for an unlikely win, were struggling at 53 for three when stumps were drawn.

India began the day at 54 for one with everything to play for. But Indi lost wickets at quick intervals. Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Rishabh Pant fell in quick succession.

India were at 106 for six and looked like they would be bowled out soon.

Thereafter, Ashwin shared a 96 run stand for the seventh wicket with Virat Kohli (62: 149b, 200m, 7x4). Later, Ashwin rallied the tail quite well. His last wicket stand worth 49 with Mohammed Siraj helped India take total command.

For England the best bowlers were Jack Leach (4-100) and Moeen Ali (4-98).

England's chase was disastrous as they lost the top-order quite cheaply. Rory Burns, Dom Sibley and night-watchman Jack Leach were dismissed cheaply.

Dan Lawrence on 19 and skipper Joe Root were at the crease when stumps were drawn.

Playing XIs

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubhman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

England: Joe Root (captain), Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Dan Lawrence, Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Jack Leach, Stuart Broad, Olly Stone

Match Details

Toss: India won and elected to bat
Test debut: Axar Patel
Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma, Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire), KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire), Javagal Srinath (Match-Referee)
Start time: 0300 am GMT

©Cricket World 2021