< >
Cricket Betting us

Ind v Eng 2nd Test Day 4: Axar, Ashwin spin India to massive win

Axar Patel India
Axar Patel India

India wrapped up a massive 317 run win over England in the second Test of the Anthony D'Mello Trophy on Tuesday at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Match Summary - India v England, 2nd Test Day 4, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, Anthony D'Mello Trophy

India 1st Innings: 329 (95.5)

England 1st Innings: 134 (59.5)

India 2nd Innings: 286 (85.5)

England 2nd Innings: 164 (54.2)
Fall of wickets: 4-65 (Rishabh Pant-25.3 ov), 5-86 (Ajinkya Rahane-30.3 ov), 6-106 (Axar Patel-36.1 ov), 7-202 (Virat Kohli-65.4 ov), 8-210 (Kuldeep Yadav-67.6 ov), 9-237 (Ishant Sharma-76.4 ov), 10-286 (Ravichandran Ashwin-85.5 ov)

Result - India won by 317 runs

Man of the Match: Ravichandran Ashwin


England was bowled out for 164 in 54.2 overs as they bowed down to the spin magic of Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav. The four-match Test series is now level at 1-1.

Axar picked a maiden five-wicket haul on his debut to end with figures of five for 60 and Ashwin ended with three for 53. Yadav picked up two for 25.

Captain Joe Root (33) held firm for a while but his partners fell around him. For a brief while, Root and Ben Stokes held around, but the result was always a foregone conclusion.

Towards the end, Moeen Ali used the long handle to good effect. He struck five sixes and three boundaries before he became the last man to be dismissed for 43 off 18 balls.

For his all-round effort for eight wickets and a hundred, Ashwin was named the man of the match.

Playing XIs
India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubhman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

England: Joe Root (captain), Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Dan Lawrence, Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Jack Leach, Stuart Broad, Olly Stone

Match Details
Toss: India won and elected to bat
Test debut: Axar Patel
Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma, Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire), KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire), Javagal Srinath (Match-Referee)