< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v Eng 3rd Test Day 1: Axar, Ashwin spin England out

Virat Kohli and Axar Patel walk off having bowled England out for 112
Virat Kohli and Axar Patel walk off having bowled England out for 112

India's spinners Axar Patel and Ravichandran once again ruled the roost at the world’s biggest cricket stadium which was officially inaugurated on Wednesday by the President Ramnath Kovind.

Match Summary - India v England, 3rd Test Day 1, Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, Anthony D'Mello Trophy

England 1st Innings: 112 (48.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Dom Sibley-2.3 ov), 2-27 (Jonny Bairstow-6.1 ov), 3-74 (Joe Root-21.5 ov), 4-80 (Zak Crawley-24.4 ov), 5-81 (Ollie Pope-27.4 ov), 6-81 (Ben Stokes-28.5 ov), 7-93 (Jofra Archer-34.2 ov), 8-98 (Jack Leach-37.3 ov), 9-105 (Stuart Broad-46.3 ov), 10-112 (Ben Foakes-48.4 ov)

India 1st Innings 99-3 (33)

Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Shubman Gill-14.6 ov), 2-34 (Cheteshwar Pujara-15.5 ov), 3-98 (Virat Kohli-32.2 ov)


The stadium was named after India’s current Prime Minister Narendra Modi before start of play. A lot of activity took place before the start of play and when the umpires called play a lot of action took place on the centre of the stadium.

By the end of the day, England had been bowled out for 112 and India finished on 99 for three.

Both sides made a number of changes to their line-ups.

England made four changes bringing in James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow and Zak Crawley in place of Rory Burns, Dan Lawrence, Olly Stone and Moeen Ali. India on the other hand made two changes bringing in Jasprit Bumrah and Washington Sundar in for Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav.

Paceman Ishant Sharma playing his 100th Test struck early dismissing Dom Sibley and thereby created inroads into the England line-up. Indian spinners led by Axar Patel thereafter took over. He struck at regular intervals.  

For a brief while, 47-run stand between Zak Crawley (53: 84b, 111m, 10x4) and captain Joe Root for the third wicket appeared to stabilise England. Then England committed hara-kiri as they lost wickets at regular intervals. England slipped from 74 for two to 81 for six and thereafter, Patel (6-38) along with senior pro Ashwin (3-26) spun a web around the visitors.

The English side slipped further into the abyss as the lower order was mopped up quite quickly as Patel’s tight spin tied the visiting side. The devil seemed to be more in the mind than in the pitch as English batsmen seem bewildered at the sight of the ball turning.

Towards the end of the day’s play, India finished on 99 for three, Rohit Sharma led the charge for the host. Sharma struck a wonderful half-century. Sharma remained unbeaten on 57 off 82 balls with nine boundaries.

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma

England: Dom Sibley, Jonny Bairstow, Zak Crawley, Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, 6 Ollie Pope, 7 Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Jofra Archer, Jack Leach, James Anderson, Stuart Broad

Match Details

Toss: India won and elected to bat
Test debut: Axar Patel
Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon, C Shamshuddin (TV Umpire), KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire), Javagal Srinath (Match-Referee)

©Cricket World 2021