< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v Eng 4th Test Day 1: Axar, Ashwin spin England out after Stokes' fifty

Axar Patel celebrates
Axar Patel celebrates
©REUTERS/Amit Dave

India's spin duo of Axar Patel and Ravichandran Ashwin yet again strangled England to help their side take control of the fourth and final Test.

Match Summary - India v England, 4th Test, Day 1, Ahmedabad

England 1st Innings: 205 (75.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Dom Sibley-5.2 ov), 2-15 (Zak Crawley-7.5 ov), 3-30 (Joe Root-12.1 ov), 4-78 (Jonny Bairstow-28.1 ov), 5-121 (Ben Stokes-46.4 ov), 6-166 (Ollie Pope-61.3 ov), 7-170 (Ben Foakes-65.4 ov), 8-188 (Dan Lawrence-70.1 ov), 9-189 (Dom Bess-70.4 ov), 10-205 (Jack Leach-75.5 ov)

India 1st Innings: 24-1 (12)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Shubman Gill-0.3 ov)

Stumps - India trail by 181 runs


On the opening day of the fourth Test at the world's biggest stadium at Motera in Ahmedabad, England were bowled out for 205. In response India was at 24 for one when stumps were drawn for the loss of Shubhman Gill, still behind by 181 runs.

Earlier, England opted to bat and were immediately in trouble as they slipped to 30 for three. Then, Jonny Bairstow (28) added 48 for the third wicket with Ben Stokes (55: 121b, 6x4, 2x6).

Stokes ended as the highest scorer for England. He shared a further 43 runs for the fifth wicket with Ollie Pope. Then, Pope and Dan Lawrence (46) put on 45 runs for the sixth wicket.

Towards the end the lower order fell under the pressure from the spinners.

For India, the key wicket-takers were Patel (4-68), Ashwin (3-47), Mohammed Siraj (2-45) and Washington Sundar (1-14).

In their response, India lost Gill cheaply yet again. Master craftsman Jimmy Anderson bowled a tight opening spell in which he picked the lone wicket in his five-maiden over spell.

Earlier, England brought in Dom Bess and Dan Lawrence in place of Stuart Broad and Jofra Archer in the playing XI. India made just one change by bringing in Mohammed Siraj in place of Jasprit Bumrah.

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

England: Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Dan Lawrence, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, Jimmy Anderson

Match Details

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma; Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Chettithody Shamshuddin (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)
Timing: 0300 GMT 

©Cricket World 2021