< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v Eng 4th Test Day 2: Pant, Sundar put India in strong position

Rohit Sharma played a crucial knock
Rohit Sharma played a crucial knock

Rishabh Pant struck an aggressive century to take India to a strong position on the second day of the fourth and final Test at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Match Summary - India v England, 4th Test Day 2, Motera, Ahmedabad

England 1st Innings: 205 (75.5)

India 1st Innings: 294-7 (94)
Fall of wickets: 2-40 (Cheteshwar Pujara-23.6 ov), 3-41 (Virat Kohli-26.4 ov), 4-80 (Ajinkya Rahane-37.5 ov), 5-121 (Rohit Sharma-49.6 ov), 6-146 (Ravichandran Ashwin-58.1 ov), 7-259 (Rishabh Pant-84.1 ov)

Stumps - India lead by 89 runs at the end of Day 2


India began at their overnight score of 24 for one. By the end of the day, India finished on 294 for seven with an overall lead of 89 run lead.

India lost wickets in the morning session when they slipped to 80 for four at lunch. Only Rohit Sharma (49) held the innings together as the other senior pros Cheteshwar Pujara and captain Virat Kohli fell cheaply.

Ajinkya Rahane shared a 39 run fourth wicket stand with Sharma. Then, Rohit shared a 41-run stand with Pant (101: 118b, 13x4, 2x6).

Pant then teamed up with Washington Sundar (60 batting: 117b, 8x4) to add 113 runs for the seventh wicket.

In the end, Pant fell towards the end of the day to James Anderson. Then Sundar took charge with Axar Patel as they added a further 35 runs.

For England the key wicket-takers were Anderson (3-40), Ben Stokes (2-73) and Jack Leach (2-66).

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

England: Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Dan Lawrence, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, Jimmy Anderson

Match Details

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma; Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Chettithody Shamshuddin (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)
Timing: 0300 GMT

©Cricket World 2021