< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v Eng 4th Test Day 3: Axar, Ashwin spin England out, India in WTC final

India booked their place in the World Test Championship final with a comprehensive innings and 25 runs win over England at Motera in Ahmedabad on Saturday.

Match Summary - India v England, 4th Test Day, Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad

England 1st Innings: 205 (75.5)

India 1st Innings: 365 (114.4)
Fall of wickets: 8-365 (Axar Patel-113.6 ov), 9-365 (Ishant Sharma-114.1 ov), 10-365 (Mohammed Siraj-114.4 ov)

England 2nd Innings: 135 (54.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Zak Crawley-4.4 ov), 2-10 (Jonny Bairstow-4.5 ov), 3-20 (Dom Sibley-9.6 ov), 4-30 (Ben Stokes-13.1 ov), 5-65 (Ollie Pope-24.5 ov), 6-65 (Joe Root-25.1 ov), 7-109 (Ben Foakes-43.1 ov), 8-111 (Dom Bess-45.1 ov), 9-134 (Jack Leach-54.2 ov), 10-135 (Dan Lawrence-54.5 ov)

Result - India won by an innings and 25 runs

Man of the Match - Rishabh Pant (India)

Man of the Series - Ravichandran Ashwin (India)


India won the four-match Test series 3-1

India began the third day of the Test at their overnight score of 294 for seven. They were eventually bowled out for 365. With a lead of 160, India then bowled out for England for 135 to hand a comprehensive win to the host.

Earlier, Washington Sundar was left stranded at 96 off 262 balls with 10 boundaries and one six. Sundar shared a crucial 106 run stand for the eighth wicket with Axar Patel (43).

But thereafter, Sundar was left watching as Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Siraj fell for ducks to see India being bowled out for 365.

For England the best bowlers were James Anderson (3-44), Ben Stokes (4-89) and Jack Leach (2-89).

In their response, England was tardy as usual in their approach.

Captain Joe Root (30) held the innings together for a while.

Then Dan Lawrence played a resolute innings of 50 off 112 balls with six boundaries. Lawrence shared a 44 run stand with Ben Foakes for the seventh wicket. It delayed the inevitable for a while. But ultimately, England fell to the spin trap of Axar Patel (5-48) and Ravichandran Ashwin (5-47).

Rishabh Pant was named the player of the match and Ashwin picked up the player of the series award.

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

England: Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Dan Lawrence, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, Jimmy Anderson

Match Details

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma; Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Chettithody Shamshuddin (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021