< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v HKG, Match 4, Asia Cup 2022: SKY blitz takes India into Super 4

India became the second team to book its place in the Super 4 stage as they beat Hong Kong by 40 runs in a Group A clash of Asia Cup on Wednesday night.

At the Dubai International Stadium, after being asked to bat India posted 192 for two in their 20 overs and in response Hong Kong finished on 152 for five in their 20 overs.

Earlier, India started off slowly. Captain Rohit Sharma was the first to fall for 21 off 13 balls after he struck a six and two boundaries. Then Lokesh Rahul (36) added 56 runs for the second wicket with Virat Kohli (59: 44b, 1x4, 3x6). India's innings did not progress at a fast pace. Then with the arrival of Suryakumar Yadav the innings got momentum. Yadav added 98 runs in an unbroken third wicket stand with Kohli. Yadav was simply unstoppable as he struck six sixes in his knock. Yadav struck four sixes in the final over of the innings. Yadav finished unbeaten on 68 off 26 balls with six boundaries and six sixes. India finished on 192 for two in their 20 overs.

In their response, Hong Kong lost Yasim Murtaza cheaply. Then Babar Hayat (41: 35b, 3x4, 2xt6) added 39 runs for the second wicket with captain Nizakat Khan. But after Hayat fell the innings did not progress quickly. Aizaz Khan and vice-captain Kinchit Shah did share a 31 run fourth wicket stand but that was not enough. The innings did not progress at the pace required. It became quite easy for India in the end despite poor performances by Arshdeep (1-44) and Avesh Khan (1-53). Hong Kong finished on 152 for five in their 20 overs. 

Top Tournament Stats - Asia Cup T20 2022

Top Batter (Runs Scored) 

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Points Table

Match Summary
India: 192-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Rohit Sharma-4.5 ov), 2-94 (KL Rahul-12.6 ov)

Hong Kong: 152-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Yasim Murtaza-1.6 ov), 2-51 (Nizakat Khan-5.6 ov), 3-74 (Babar Hayat-11.1 ov), 4-105 (Aizaz Khan-14.5 ov), 5-116 (Kinchit Shah-17.1 ov)

Result: India won by five wickets 


Playing XIs
Hong Kong: Nizakat Khan (captain), Babar Hayat, Yasim Murtaza, Kinchit Shah, Scott McKechnie (wicket-keeper), Haroon Arshad, Aizaz Khan, Zeeshan Ali, Ehsan Khan, Ayush Shukla, Mohammad Ghazanfar

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh 

Match Details
Toss: Hong Kong, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Gazi Sohel (On-field Umpires); Asif Yaqoob (TV Umpire); Ahmed Shah Pakteen (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)