< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v NZ 1st T20I: India start new T20I era with a win

Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav
Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav
Mark Chapman and Martin Guptill
Mark Chapman and Martin Guptill

India got off to a winning start in the three-match Twenty20 International series against New Zealand with a five-wicket win in the first encounter at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Wednesday night.

In Jaipur, New Zealand after being asked to bat posted 164 for six in their 20 overs and in their response India chased down the target in 19.4 overs to finish on 166 for five.

Earlier, New Zealand rode high on a 109-run second wicket stand between Martin Guptill and Mark Chapman. Guptill finished on 70 off 42 balls with three boundaries and four huge sixes. Chapman on the other hand ended on 63 off 50 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Then there was bit of a collapse as none of the other batsmen performed to their abilities. For India, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2-24) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2-23) ended as the most successful bowlers.

In their response India got off to a swift start with their openers Lokesh Rahul and captain Rohit Sharma adding 50 runs in just 5.1 overs. Then Sharma added 59 runs for the second wicket with Suryakumar Yadav. After Sharma's fall, Yadav took charge as he ended on 62 off 40 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. Then there were couple of other wickets to fall with Shreyas Iyer and debutant Venkatesh Iyer exiting soon enough. India appeared to be in a spot of bother but Rishabh Pant calmed the nerves as the home team chased down the target in 19.4 overs to end on 166 for five. For New Zealand, Trent Boult picked up two for 31.

Match Summary

New Zealand: 164-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Daryl Mitchell-0.3 ov), 2-110 (Mark Chapman-13.2 ov), 3-110 (Glenn Phillips-13.5 ov), 4-150 (Martin Guptill-17.2 ov), 5-153 (Tim Seifert-18.2 ov), 6-162 (Rachin Ravindra-19.5 ov)

India: 166-5 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-50 (KL Rahul-5.1 ov), 2-109 (Rohit Sharma-13.2 ov), 3-144 (Suryakumar Yadav-16.4 ov), 4-155 (Shreyas Iyer-18.6 ov), 5-160 (Venkatesh Iyer-19.2 ov)

Result: India won by five wickets


Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (captain), Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Match details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Start time: 1900 hrs India time
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021