< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v NZ 1st Test Day 2: Young Latham lead strong New Zealand reply

Tom Latham and Will Young lead strong response
Tom Latham and Will Young lead strong response

New Zealand responded strongly to India with an unbroken opening stand which placed them 216 runs behind the home team at the end of the second day at the Green Park stadium in Kanpur.

On Friday, India began at their overnight score of 258 for four but were finally bowled out for 345. Then in their response New Zealand finished the day at 129 for no loss.

Earlier, India lost their overnight batter Ravindra Jadeja for 50. Then there was bit of a collapse as India lost Wriddhiman Saha soon after. Debutant Shreyas Iyer reached his maiden Test century. Iyer finally fell for 105 off 171 balls with 13 boundaries and two sixes. It appeared that India would finish on a below par score. Ravichandran Ashwin held the innings together for a while as he made 38. Towards the end Ashwin struck a few lusty hits before India was bowled out for 345.

For New Zealand the wicket-takers were Tim Southee (5-69), Kyle Jamieson (3-91) and Ajaz Patel (2-90).

In their response, New Zealand made a strong start. Both the openers Tom Latham and Will Young survived a number of anxious moments. Latham in fact utilised the services of Decision Review System (DRS) to survive thrice after having been given out on the field. Latham finished unbeaten on 50 off 165 balls with four boundaries, whereas Young ended unbeaten on 75 off 180 balls with 12 boundaries. In the end New Zealand finished on 129 for no loss after 57 overs.

Match Summary
India: 345 (111.1)
Fall of wickets: 5-266 (Ravindra Jadeja-86.6 ov), 6-288 (Wriddhiman Saha-92.2 ov), 7-305 (Shreyas Iyer-96.1 ov), 8-313 (Axar Patel-98.6 ov), 9-339 (Ravichandran Ashwin-109.2 ov), 10-345 (Ishant Sharma-111.1 ov)

New Zealand: 129-0 (57)

End of Day 2: New Zealand trail by 216 runs


Playing XI
India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Will Sommerville, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel

Match details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Green Park, Kanpur
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)