< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v NZ 1st Test Day 3: Axar, Ashwin bowl India into strong position

Axar Patel claims his fourth wicket, bowling Tom Blundell out for 13
Axar Patel claims his fourth wicket, bowling Tom Blundell out for 13

India took a crucial 49-run lead in the first Test against New Zealand on the third day at the Green Park in Kanpur on Saturday.

India ended the third day at 14 for 1 to take an overall lead of 63. New Zealand earlier were bowled out for 296.

Earlier, New Zealand began at their overnight score of 129 for no loss. New Zealand lost their first wicket on 151 when Will Young was dismissed first. Young finished on 89 off 214 balls with 15 boundaries.

Then there was a regular fall of wickets as Tom Latham stood firm at one end. From 197 for one the New Zealand innings slipped to 227 for five. Latham was the fifth man out for 95 off 282 balls with 10 boundaries.

Towards the end Kyle Jamieson hung around for a while as he rallied the lower order. But in the end New Zealand were bowled out for 296 in 142.3 overs to hand India a crucial 49 run lead.

For India the best bowlers were Axar Patel (5-62) and Ravichandran Ashwin (3-82).

In their second innings, India lost their opener Shubman Gill. India finished on 14 for one to end with an overall lead of 63.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 345 (111.1)

New Zealand 1st Innings: 296 (142.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-151 (Will Young-66.1 ov), 2-197 (Kane Williamson-85.3 ov), 3-214 (Ross Taylor-94.3 ov), 4-218 (Henry Nicholls-96.5 ov), 5-227 (Tom Latham-102.1 ov), 6-241 (Rachin Ravindra-110.4 ov), 7-258 (Tom Blundell-123.4 ov), 8-270 (Tim Southee-127.4 ov), 9-284 (Kyle Jamieson-138.6 ov), 10-296 (William Somerville-142.3 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 14-1 (5)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Shubman Gill-1.1 ov)

End of Day three: India leads by 63 runs


Playing XI
India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Will Sommerville, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel

Match details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Green Park, Kanpur
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)