< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v NZ 1st Test Day 4: Iyer, Saha put India ahead

Axar Patel and Wriddhiman Saha
Axar Patel and Wriddhiman Saha

India set a challenging target of 284 for New Zealand to win the first Test at the Green Park in Kanpur.

On Sunday, India declared at 234 for seven with an overall lead of 283 and in response New Zealand ended fourth day of the Test at four for one.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 14 for one, India lost quick wickets. The side slipped to 51 for five as they lost their captain Ajinkya Rahane, vice-captain Cheteshwar Pujara and opener Mayank Agarwal.

India seemed to be in a spot of bother. Debutant Shreyas Iyer then teamed up with Ravichandran Ashwin to put on 52 for the sixth wicket. Ashwin finally fell for 32. It was then Iyer's turn to take charge as he put on 64 for the seventh wicket with wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha. Iyer finally fell for 65 off 125 balls with eight boundaries and a six. Saha then allied with Axar Patel. Together this Saha-Patel pairing put on an unbroken 67 for the eighth wicket. Saha ended on an unbeaten 61 off 126 balls with four boundaries and a six. Patel remained unbeaten on 28 off 67 balls when captain Rahane called a halt to the innings at 234 for seven.

For New Zealand the best bowlers were Tim Southee (3-75) and Kyle Jamieson (3-40).

In their response, New Zealand lost their opener Will Young as they ended at four for one at the end of the fourth day.

Vikram Rathour, Batting Coach, Indian Cricket Team, addressed a virtual press conference after Day 4 of the first Test against New Zealand in Kanpur.


Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 345 (111.1)

New Zealand 1st Innings: 296 (142.3)

India 2nd Innings: 234-7 decl (81)
Fall of wickets: 2-32 (Cheteshwar Pujara-11.1 ov), 3-41 (Ajinkya Rahane- 14.5 ov), 4-51 (Mayank Agarwal-19.2 ov), 5-51 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.4 ov), 6-103 (Ravichandran Ashwin-39.2 ov), 7-167 (Shreyas Iyer-60.2 ov)

New Zealand 2nd Innings: 4-1 (4)
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Will Young-2.6 ov)

End of Day four: New Zealand needs another 280 runs for a win


Playing XI
India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Will Sommerville, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel

Match details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Green Park, Kanpur
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)