< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v NZ 2nd Test Day 3: India just five steps away from series win

55-3. Ravi Ashwin has all 3 wickets this innings
55-3. Ravi Ashwin has all 3 wickets this innings

Axar Patel, Member, Indian Cricket Team, addressed a virtual press conference after Day 3 of the second Test against New Zealand in Mumbai.


India are just five wickets away from sealing a series win over New Zealand in the second Test at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

In the second and final Test India set a massive target of 540 for New Zealand to win the match. India declared at 276 for seven and in response New Zealand ended at 140 for five, still 400 runs behind the target.

Resuming at their overnight score of 69 for no loss, India progressed rapidly. India's makeshift pair of Cheteshwar Pujara and Mayank Agarwal added 107 for the opening wicket. The first to fall for India was Agarwal (62: 108b, 9x4, 1x6). Thereafter, Pujara fell soon after. Then Shubman Gill put on 82 runs for the third wicket with captain Virat Kohli. Gill fell for 47 and thereafter there was bit of a collapse. Kohli and Shreyas Iyer fell quickly enough. Towards the end Axar Patel added quick runs before India declared at the score of 276 for seven.

For New Zealand the chief wicket-taker was Ajaz Patel (4-106).

In their response, New Zealand struggled as Ravichandran Ashwin took wickets at regular intervals. Daryl Mitchell top-scored with 60 off 92 balls with seven boundaries and two sixes. Mitchell added 73 for the fourth wicket with Henry Nicholls. Towards the end New Zealand finished on 140 for five when stumps were drawn.

For India, the best bowler was Ashwin with figures of three for 27.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 325 (109.5)
New Zealand 1st Innings: 62 (28.1)

India 2nd Innings: 276-7 decl (70)
Fall of wickets: 1-107 (Mayank Agarwal-31.2 ov), 2-115 (Cheteshwar Pujara-35.5 ov), 3-197 (Shubman Gill-59.4 ov), 4-211 (Shreyas Iyer-61.2 ov), 5-217 (Virat Kohli-62.1 ov), 6-238 (Wriddhiman Saha-66.2 ov), 7-276 (Jayant Yadav-69.6 ov)

New Zeland: 140-5 (45)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Tom Latham-3.6 ov), 2-45 (Will Young-14.3 ov), 3-55 (Ross Taylor-16.1 ov), 4-128 (Daryl Mitchell-34.3 ov), 5-129 (Tom Blundell-36.5 ov)

End of Day three: New Zealand needs another 400 runs


Playing XIs
India: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Will Young, Tom Latham (captain), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Will Somerville, Ajaz Patel

Match details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 0930 hrs India time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)