< >
Cricket Betting us

Ind v Pak, Match 2, Group A, Asia Cup 2022: Bhuvi, Pandya swing it for India

India made a confident start to their Asia Cup 2022 campaign with a five-wicket win over Pakistan at the Dubai International Stadium in Dubai on Sunday night.

After being asked to bat, Pakistan was bowled out for 147 in 19.4 overs. In their response India chased down the target in 19.4 overs to finish on 148 for five.

Earlier in a Group A clash, Pakistan was struggling with the early loss of captain Babar Azam. But thereafter Mohammed Rizwan (43: 42b,4x4, 1x6) steadied the ship. Rizwan shared a 45 run third wicket stand with Iftikhar Ahmed. However the innings lost momentum. Pakistan slipped to 128 for nine. The last wicket pair of Haris Rauf and Shahnawazz Dahani added 19 runs to stretch the score to 147 in 19.5 overs. For India the best bowlers were Bhuvneshwar Kumar (4-26), Hardik Pandya (3-25) and Arshdeep Singh (2-33).

In their response India lost Lokesh Rahul off the second ball. Captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli added 49 runs for the second wicket. After Sharma fell, Kohli was dismissed soon after for 35. Then there was a 36 run stand between Ravindra Jadeja (35) and Suryakumar Yadav for the fourth wicket which steadied the chase. Then Jadeja a further 52 runs for the fifth wicket with Hardik Pandya. Jadeja finally fell for 35 off 29 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. Pandya hit the final winning six as he finished unbeaten on 33 off 17 balls with four boundaries and six. India chased the score in 19.4 overs to finish on 148 for five. For Pakistan the best bowlers were Mohammad Nawaz (3-33) and Naseem Shah (2-27). 

Match Summary
Pakistan: 147 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Babar Azam-2.4 ov), 2-42 (Fakhar Zaman-5.5 ov), 3-87 (Iftikhar Ahmed-12.1 ov), 4-96 (Mohammad Rizwan-14.1 ov), 5-97 (Khushdil Shah-14.3 ov), 6-112 (Asif Ali-16.3 ov), 7-114 (Mohammad Nawaz-17.1 ov), 8-128 (Shadab Khan-18.2 ov), 9-128 (Naseem Shah-18.3 ov), 10-147 (Shahnawaz Dahani-19.5 ov)

India: 148-5 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (KL Rahul-0.2 ov), 2-50 (Rohit Sharma-7.6 ov), 3-53 (Virat Kohli-9.1 ov), 4-89 (Suryakumar Yadav-14.2 ov), 5-141 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.1 ov)

Result: India won by five wickjets 


Top Tournament Stats

Top Batter (Runs Scored) 

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Points Table

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain); KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Fakhar Zaman, ftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shahnawaz Dahani

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium
Match officials: Masudur Rahman, Ruchira Palliyaguruge (On-field Umpires); Raveendra Wimalasiri (TV Umpire); Gazi Sohel (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)

© Cricket World and AFP 2022

× Close