< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v SA, 1st ODI: South Africa close out a rain-hit encounter

South Africa's Heinrich Klaasen
South Africa's Heinrich Klaasen

South Africa claimed an early lead in the three-match ODI series with a nine run win in the opening game at Lucknow on Thursday night.

Earlier on a rain-hit day where the game was reduced to 40 overs a side, South Africa after being asked to bat posted 249 for four in their allotted overs. In response India was restricted to 240 for eight.

South Africa got off to smart start as Janneman Malan (22) and Quinton de Kock (48) added 49. Then there was a brief collapse as they were reduced to 71 for three. Then there was a 39 run stand between de Kock and Heinrich Klaasen revived the innings. After de Kock fell, Klaasen teamed up with David Miller. Together the pair added 139 runs for the fifth wicket in an unbroken stand. Miller (75 n.o: 63b, 5x4, 3x6) and Klaasen (74 n.o.: 65b, 6x4, 2x6) played good hands as South Africa finished on 249 for four in their 40 overs. For India the best bowler was Shardul Thakur (2-35).

In their chase, India lost their openers were packed off early. There was a 40 run third wicket stand between Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan. But the innings froze with the score at 51 for four. Vice-captain Shreyas Iyer (50: 37b, 8x4) added 67 runs for the fifth wicket with Sanju Samson. Then, Shardul Thakur joined forces with Samson to add 93 runs for the sixth wicket. But just when Thakur (33) was opening up his shoulders things changed again as India lost three quick wickets to derail the chase. In the final over India needed 30 runs, Samson swung his bat around and brought the home team close. In the end India finished on 240 for eight in their 40 overs. Samson finished unbeaten on 86 off 62 balls with nine boundaries and three sixes. For South Africa the best bowlers were Lungi Ngidi (3-52) and Kagiso Rabada (2-36).

The second game of the series will be played on Sunday at Ranchi. 

Match Summary
South Africa: 249-4 (40)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Janneman Malan-12.1 ov), 2-70 (Temba Bavuma-14.6 ov), 3-71 (Aiden Markram-15.6 ov), 4-110 (Quinton de Kock-22.2 ov)

India: 240-8 (40)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Shubman Gill-2.4 ov), 2-8 (Shikhar Dhawan-5.1 ov), 3-48 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-16.4 ov), 4-51 (Ishan Kishan-17.4 ov), 5-118 (Shreyas Iyer-26.4 ov), 6-211 (Shardul Thakur-37.3 ov), 7-211 (Kuldeep Yadav-37.4 ov), 8-215 (Avesh Khan-38.5 ov)


 Result: South Africa win by nine runs, lead series 1-0

Playing XIs
South Africa: Janneman Malan, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Aiden Markram, Henrich Klaasen, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Start time: 1015 hrs GMT
Match Officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Anil Chaudhary (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World