< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v SA 1st T20I: van der Dussen, Miller take South Africa to a 1-0 lead

South Africa got off to a fine start in the five-match T20I series against India with a seven-wicket win in the opening encounter at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Thursday night.

Asked to bat, India posted 211 for four in their 20 overs and South Africa finished on 212 for three in 19.1 overs.

Earlier, India got off to a fine start with Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad putting on 57. After Gaikwad fell for 23 as Kishan carried the innings forward in partnership with Shreyas Iyer. Kishan and Iyer put on 80 runs for the second wicket. Kishan fell for 76 off 48 balls with 11 boundaries and three sixes. Iyer then fell for 36 off 27 balls with one boundary and three sixes. Towards the end captain Rishabh Pant added 46 runs for the fourth wicket with Hardik Pandya. Then Pandya finished unbeaten on 31 off 12 balls with two boundaries and three sixes. India finished on 211 for four in their 20 overs.

South Africa in their response lost their captain Temba Bavuma early. Then Dwaine Pretorius promoted in the order struck a brisk 29 off 13 balls. But after Quinton de Kock and Pretorius fell, South Africa were in a spot of bother. South Africa were then carried forward by a brilliant 141 run fourth wicket stand between Rassie van der Dussen and David Miller. In the end van der Dussen finished unbeaten on 75 off 46 balls with seven boundaries and five sixes. Miller remained unbeaten on 64 off 31 balls with four boundaries and five sixes. South Africa finished on 212 for three in 19.1 overs.

The second match of the series will be played on 12 June at Cuttack. 

Match Summary
India: 211-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-6.2 ov), 2-137 -(Ishan Kishan-12.6 ov), 3-156 (Shreyas Iyer-16.1 ov), 4-202 (Rishabh Pant-19.1 ov)

South Africa: 212-3 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Temba Bavuma-2.2 ov), 2-61 (Dwaine Pretorius-5.2 ov), 3-81 (Quinton de Kock-8.4 ov)

Result: South Africa won by seven wickets 


Playing XI
India: Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Match Details
Toss: South Africa, elected to field
Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Start time: 1430 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022