< >
Cricket Betting us

Ind v SA, 2nd ODI: Shreyas, Kishan slam big to level series for India

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer's second ODI century and his brilliant stand with Ishan Kishan helped India level the three-match series against South Africa with a seven wicket win in the second game at Ranchi on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, South Africa posted 278 for seven in their 50 overs and in response India chased down the target in 45.5 overs to finish on 282 for three.

Earlier, South Africa was led by Keshav Maharaj in the absence of an indisposed Temba Bavuma. Quinton de Kock fell cheaply. Then Janneman Malan tried to repair the innings with Reeza Hendricks. Thereafter, Hendricks added 129 runs for the third wicket with Aiden Markram. Hendricks fell for 74 off 76 balls with nine boundaries and a six. Then Markram added a further 46 runs for the fourth wicket with Heinrich Klaasen (30). Markram (79: 89b, 7x4, 1x6) and Klaasen fell in quick succession. David Miller finished unbeaten on 35. South Africa finished on 278 for seven in their 50 overs. For India the best bowler was Mohammed Siraj (3-38).

In their response India lost their openers captain Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill fell in quick succession. India was in a spot of bother at 48 for two. Vice-captain Shreyas Iyer then teamed up with Ishan Kishan to revive the chase. Kishan finally fell for 93 off 84 balls with four boundaries and seven sixes. Iyer carried the bat along further as he slammed his second ODI hundred. Together Iyer and Kishan added 161 runs for the third wicket off 156 balls. Then after Kishan fell, Iyer added an unbeaten 73 off 69 ball with Sanju Samson. Iyer finished unbeaten on 113 off 111 balls with 15 boundaries as India finished on 282 for three in 45.5 overs.

The third and final ODI will be played in Delhi on Tuesday night.

Match Summary
South Africa: 278-7 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Quinton de Kock-2.1 ov), 2-40 (Janneman Malan-9.5 ov), 3-169 (Reeza Hendricks-31.2 ov), 4-215 (Heinrich Klaasen-37.6 ov), 5-215 (Aiden Markram-38.2 ov), 6-256 (Wayne Parnell-46.2 ov), 7-277 (Keshav Maharaj-49.5 ov) 

India: 282-3 (45.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Shikhar Dhawan-5.6 ov), 2-48 (Shubman Gill-8.5 ov), 3-209 (Ishan Kishan-34.3 ov)


Result: India won by seven wickets, series levelled 1-1

Playing XI
India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan

South Africa: Janneman Malan, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj (captain), Bjorn Fortuin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Match Details
Toss: South Africa, elected to bat
Venue: JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022