< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v SA, 2nd T20I: India bests Proteas in high-scoring game, seal series

India's KL Rahul scored 57 today
India's KL Rahul scored 57 today

KL Rahul, vice-captain, Indian Cricket Team addressed a press conference after the second T20I against South Africa in Guwahati.


India claimed an unassailable 2-0 lead as they beat South Africa by 16 runs in the second T20 International at Guwahati on Sunday night.

After being asked to bat, India posted a massive 237 for three in their 20 overs and in response South Africa ended on 221 for three in 20 overs.

Earlier, India started off well with captain Rohit Sharma and vice-captain KL Rahul added 96 for the opening wicket. Sharma was the first to fall as he went for 43. Rahul finished on 57 off 28 balls with five boundaries and four sixes. Thereafter, Suryakumar Yadav took charge of the innings as he struck at will. Yadav added 102 runs for the third wicket with Virat Kohli. Yadav finished on 61 off 22 balls with five boundaries and five sixes. Kohli ended unbeaten on 49 off 28 balls with seven boundaries and a six. In the end India finished on 237 for three in their 20 overs. For South Africa the best bowler was Keshav Maharaj (2-23).

In their response, South Africa lost their captain Temba Bavuma for a duck. Then Rilee Rossouw fell for a duck too. Then there was a 46 run stand between Quinton de Kock Aiden Markram for the third wicket. The innings lost momentum thereafter. Towards the end, David Miller and de Kock teamed up well as they added an unbeaten 174 runs for the fourth wicket. But the asking rate kept soaring at all times. In the end Miller finished unbeaten on 106 off 47 balls with eight boundaries and seven sixes. de Kock finished unbeaten on 69 off 48 balls with three boundaries and four sixes.

The third and final T20 International will be played on Tuesday, 4 October at Indore. 

Match Summary
India: 237-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-96 (Rohit Sharma-9.5 ov), 2-107 (KL Rahul-11.3 ov), 3-209 (Suryakumar Yadav-18.1 ov)

South Africa: 221-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Temba Bavuma-1.2 ov), 2-1 (Rilee Rossouw-1.4 ov), 3-47 (Aiden Markram-6.2 ov)


Result: India won by 16 runs 

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, R Ashwin, Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, Tristan Stubbs, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi

Match Details
Toss: South Africa, elected to field
Venue: Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati
Start time: 1330 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Rohan Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022