< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ind v SA, 3rd T20I: Rossouw ton flattens India in final T20I

South Africa's Rilee Rossouw
South Africa's Rilee Rossouw

South Africa pulled one back in the third and final T20I with a 49 run win over India at Indore. India however won the series 2-1.

Earlier at the Holkar Cricket Stadium, South Africa after being asked to bat posted 227 for three in their 20 overs. India in response were bowled out in 18.3 overs to finish on 178.

South Africa got off to a good start as captain Temba Bavuma and Quinton de Kock added 30 runs. Then de Kock added 90 runs for the second wicket with Rilee Rossouw. de Kock fell for 68 off 43 balls with six boundaries and four sixes. Then towards the end Tristan Stubbs used the long handle to good effect. Rossouw added 87 runs for the third wicket. Rossouw finished unbeaten on 100 off 48 balls with seven boundaries and eight sixes.

In their response, captain Rohit Sharma fell for a duck off the second ball. Then Shreyas Iyer fell soon after. Rishabh Pant added 41 runs for the third wicket with Dinesh Karthik. Thereafter, Karthik went beserk as he made 46 off 21 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. Then there was a collapse as India was reduced to 120 for eight. Deepak Chahar (31) added 48 runs for the ninth wicket with Umesh Yadav. In the end India was bowled out for 178 in 18.3 overs. For South Africa the best bowlers were Dwaine Pretorius (3-26), Keshav Maharaj (3-24), Lungi Ngidi (2-51), Wayne Parnell (2-41).

The two sides will now play a three-match ODI series from Thursday, October 6. 

Match Summary
South Africa: 227-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Temba Bavuma-4.1 ov), 2-120 (Quinton de Kock-12.1 ov), 3-207 (Tristan Stubbs-19.2 ov)

India: 178 (18.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Rohit Sharma-0.2 ov), 2-4 (Shreyas Iyer-1.4 ov), 3-45 (Rishabh Pant-4.6 ov), 4-78 (Dinesh Karthik-6.6 ov), 5-86 (Suryakumar Yadav-7.6 ov), 6-108 (Harshal Patel-10.5 ov), 7-114 (Axar Patel-11.4 ov), 8-120 (Ravichandran Ashwin-12.2 ov), 9-168 (Deepak Chahar-16.3 ov), 10-178 (Mohammed Siraj-18.3 ov)


Result: South Africa won by 49 runs, India wins series 2-1

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

Match Details
Toss: India, elect to field
Venue: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
Start time: 1330 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Rohan Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World