< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India beat Australia by 6 wickets in 1st ODI thanks to MS Dhoni & Jadhav

An unbeaten 141-run partnership between MS Dhoni & Jadhav today

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against India, in the 1st ODI, at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad today.

Match Summary

Australia 236-7 (Usman Khawaja 50, Glenn Maxwell 40, Marcus Stoinis 37, Alex Carey 36*; Mohammed Shami 2-42, Jasprit Bumrah 2-60)

India 240-4 (MS Dhoni 59*, Kedar Jadhav 81*, Virat Kohli 44; Nathan Coulter-Nile 2-46, Adam Zampa 2-49)

Result - India won by 6 wickets


Australia started badly with skipper Aaron Finch out third ball for nought. However, Usman Khawaja and Marcus Stoinis 37 put on 87 for the 2nd wicket to give the innings some impetuous. As the overs passed, wickets fell and it was slow progress for the Australian batsmen, eventually making 236-7 off their 50 overs - Usman Khawaja 50, Marcus Stoinis 37, Glenn Maxwell 40 and Alex Carey 36* the main run getters and Mohammed Shami 2-42 and Jasprit Bumrah 2-60 the main wicket takers for India.

In reply, India, after a shaky start were 99-4. Then came the match winning partnership between MS Dhoni 59* and Kedar Jadhav 81* and India won by 6 wickets.Nathan Coulter-Nile 2-46 and Adam Zampa 2-49 were the pick of the Australia bowlers.

The 2nd ODI is on Tuesday 5th  March.

India - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(wk), Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia - Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey(wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa

© Cricket World 2019