India beat England by 8 wickets in 1st T20I of the Series

India beat England by 8 wickets in 1st T20I of the Series

India won the toss and decided to field at the Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester this evening against England in the 1st T20I of the three match series.

England 159-8 (Jos Buttler 69, Jason Roy 30, David Willey 29*; Kuldeep Yadav 5-24, Umesh Yadav 2-21)

India 163-2  (KL Rahul 101*, Rohit Sharma 32, Virat Kohli 20*)

Result India won by 8 wickets 

England started well with Buttler (69) and Roy (30) putting on 50 for the first wicket off 5 overs. Hales and Buttler then took the score to 95-2 before England’s middle order was ripped apart by Kuldeep Yadav 5-24, losing 5 wickets for just 22 runs. England struggled to 159-8 thanks to a late flourish with the bat by David Willey 29*.

In reply, an India win was never in doubt - England had not got enough runs to defend, against the top T20I team in the world, and, after the early loss of Shikhar Dhawan for 4, the next wicket to fall was at 130-2 after 12.2 overs. KL Rahul 101*, Rohit Sharma 32, and Virat Kohli 20* all contributed to great all round batting performance. Adil Rashid 1-25 was the pick of the England bowlers.

Round 2 -  July 6 England v India, 2nd T20I Sophia Gardens Cardiff 5:30 pm



England - Jason Roy, , Jos Buttler(wk), Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Jonny Bairstow. Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid

India - Virat Kohli(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(wk), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya. Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal


Player Profiles