< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India edge out New Zealand in rain-hit 8-over game to take series 2-1

Jasprit Bumrah (centre) was brilliant with the ball
Jasprit Bumrah (centre) was brilliant with the ball

India 67-5 (Pandey 17) beat
New Zealand 61-6 (de Grandhomme 17no) by six runs
Third Twenty20 International in Thiruvananthapuram

Jasprit Bumrah led a terrific bowling display as India managed to defend 67 runs after wet weather reduced the third and final Twenty20 International against New Zealand in Thiruvananthapuram to an eight-over encounter.

The result also means India have claimed the three-match series 2-1. A steady drizzle and wet outfield delayed the proceedings for two hours following which the Black Caps won the toss and decided to field first on what was announced as an eight-over game.

The Indian openers Rohit Sharma (8) and Shikhar Dhawan (6) managed just 14 runs off the first two overs before both were dismissed in the third over bowled by Tim Southee (2-13).

The innings continued to slide as Ish Sodhi (2-23) accounted for Virat Kohli (13) and Shreyas Iyer (6) in successive overs before knocks from Manish Pandey (17) and Hardik Pandya (14 not out) ensured India reached 67 for five in their allotted eight overs.

Southee and Sodhi were the pick of the New Zealand bowlers while Trent Boult (1-13) was economical.

Chasing just over eight an over, Colin Munro (7) got the innings to a promising start with a six in the first over but Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1-18) and Bumrah (2-9) removed Martin Guptill (1) and his partner in successive overs.

With runs were hard to come by Glenn Phillips (11) tried to ease the pressure a bit with back to back boundaries in the fourth over but New Zealand lost two more wickets in the fifth. Kane Williamson (8) was run out while Phillips was caught at deep midwicket.

With 32 runs needed off the final three overs, Colin de Grandhomme (17 not out) tried his best to keep New Zealand in the game but they eventually fell short off the target by seven runs. Bumrah bagged both the player of the match and the series awards.

© Cricket World 2017