< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India fall to Australia in 5th ODI by 35 runs and lose series 3-2

Pat Cummins 2-38 - outstanding for Australia today

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against India in the fifth and deciding ODI, of the five match series, at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, today

Match Summary                          

Australia 272-9 (Usman Khawaja 100, Peter Handscomb 52; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3-48, Mohammed Shami 2-57, Ravindra Jadeja 2-45)

India 237 (Rohit Sharma 56, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 46, Kedar Jadhav 44; Adam Zampa 3-46, Marcus Stoinis 2-31, Jhye Richardson 2-47, Pat Cummins 2-38)

Result - Australia won by 35 runs


Series Stats

Opting to bat first, Australia scored 272-9 with Usman Khawaja 100 and Peter Handscomb 52 and Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3-48, Mohammed Shami 2-57 and Ravindra Jadeja 2-45, the pick of the India bowlers.

Australia would have been a little disappointed not to have totalled more than 300+ as, at one stage, they were 170-1 off 32 overs and looking to score big. India managed to pull them back, however, to scoring less than 100 off the remaining 18 overs.

In reply, India were bowled out for 237, with an outstanding performance from the Australian bowlers - Adam Zampa 3-46, Marcus Stoinis 2-31, Jhye Richardson 2-47 and Pat Cummins 2-38.

Rohit Sharma 56, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 46 and Kedar Jadhav 44 top scored for India but they were unable to chase down the required runs and Australia won the the deciding ODI of the series by 35 runs , to win the series 3-2, having at one stage been 0-2 down.

He made two centuries, two half-centuries and a total of 383 runs in the series - who else could be named #INDvAUS Player of the Series but, Usman Khawaja.

Stat Attack

Teams who have come back from 2-0 down to win an ODI series 3-2:

SOUTH AFRICA v Pakistan, 2003

BANGLADESH v Zimbabwe, 2005

PAKISTAN v India, 2005

SOUTH AFRICA v England, 2016

AUSTRALIA v India, 2019

Teams -

India - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant(wk), Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia - Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey(wk), Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa

©Cricket World 2019