< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India Fight Back To Bowl South Africa Out For 265

South Africa 265 (Smith 69, Amla 51, Sharma 3-52) v India in Kanpur South Africa lead the series 1-0 By John Pennington India fought back well to bowl South Africa out for 265 on day one of the third and final Test in Kanpur after the tourists won the toss and chose to bat first. Harbhajan Singh took three for 52 and Ishant Sharma three for 55 on a dry, dusty pitch on which South Africa were at one point 152 for one as Graeme Smith and Hashim Amla hit well-crafted half-centuries. The first wicket came when Chawla playing in his second Test Match, made the much needed breakthrough for the home team when he had Neil McKenzie stumped by MS Dhoni for 36. McKenzie's wicket meant that South Africa were 61 for one. Smith fell after lunch for 69, caught by Wasim Jaffer off of the bowling of Yuvraj Singh with South Africa on 152 for two. Amla was bowled for 51 by Ishant Sharma before Kallis was bowled by Harbhajan Singh for a single. The ball bounced off Kallis's pad and hit the back of his bat before rebounding onto the stumps for an unlucky dismissal. AB De Villiers (25) batted freely after tea before he played an ill-judged pull shot off of Chawla and was caught by Saurav Ganguly to leave South Africa five down for 199. Ashwell Prince struggled once again and was trapped in front for 16 from 71 balls by Virender Sehwag. Morne Morkel was then caught at slip by Rahul Dravid off of Harbhajan for a bright 17. Mark Boucher (29) and Paul Harris (12) were bowled by Sharma and Dale Steyn was caught by Mohammad Kaif attempting to reverse sweep Harbhajan. An unchanged South Africa won the toss and chose to bat. India welcomed back Ishant Sharma, and brought in Chawla and Yuvraj Singh in place of RP Singh, the injured Anil Kumble and Irfan Pathan. Mahendra Singh Dhoni captains a Test for the first time. South Africa: Graeme Smith, Neil McKenzie, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Ashwell Prince, AB De Villiers, Mark Boucher, Morne Morkel, Paul Harris, Dale Steyn, Makhaya Ntini India: Wasim Jaffer, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Saurav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth � Cricket World 2008