< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India Leave Out World Cup Winners

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir, pictured here during the 2011 World Cup final, has been left out of India's preliminary squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

India have left Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan out of their 30-man preliminary squad for the Cricket World Cup 2015.

Despite those five players being part of the squad that won the tournament on home soil four years ago, they have not featured regularly recently and have been overlooked.

Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Yusuf Pathan, Munaf Patel and Shanthakumaran Sreesanth also featured in 2011 but are not included in this preliminary squad while Sachin Tendulkar has retired.

India, who also won the tournament in 1983, are placed in Pool B in the World Cup and open their campaign against rivals Pakistan on 15th February.

They go on to play South Africa (22nd February), United Arab Emirates (28th February), West Indies (6th March), Ireland (10th March) and Zimbabwe (14th March) in the group stage.

Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson and Kuldeep Yadav are the three uncapped players in the squad while Kedhar Jadhav and Parvez Rasool have played just one ODI and Karn Sharma has just two ODIs under his belt.

India preliminary World Cup squad: MS Dhoni, Varun Aaron, Ravichandrin Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Ashok Dinda, Virat Kohli, Dhawal Kulkarni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Amit Mishra, Manish Pandey, Akshar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Parvez Rasool, Ambati Rayudu, Wriddhiman Saha, Sanju Samson, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Karn Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Robin Uthappa, Murali Vijay, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav

© Cricket World 2014


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep