< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India mull over enforcing the follow-on after South Africa bowled out for 275 on Day 3

Ashwin takes the final wicket and South Africa
Philander and Mararaj frustrate India

It is likely that India will try to get some quick runs in about three hours and then put South Africa in to bat last.

Match Summary Day 3

India 601-5 dec (156.3 Overs; Kohli(c)254(336), Agarwal108(195); Rabada3/93, Maharaj1/196)

South Africa 275 (105.4 Overs; Maharaj72(132), du Plessis(c)64(117); Ashwin4/69, U Yadav3/37)

At the close - South Africa trail by 326 runs

Day 3 of the Pune Test followed a pattern similar to the last innings of the Visakhapatnam Test match. It took Mohammed Shami little time to break open South Africa's overnight partnership of Theunis de Bruyn and Anrich Nortje as nightwatchman Nortje nicked one through to slip. De Bruyn also followed his partner with a shot that he would not be very proud of.

Quinton de Kock and Faf du Plessis then offered some resistance. While du Plessis notched up another half-century, de Kock was dismissed on 31 off Ashwin. Both of them would be disappointed to not convert their starts into big knocks.

Skipper du Plessis, in particular, should be livid with himself after not capitalising on his two half-centuries in the the series till now, especially when the batsmen around him are not delivering. Another concern for South Africa is the batting order of du Plessis as many believe that he should come in to bat at four, if not three.

At 162-8, it seemed that it would be an easy task for India but Keshav Maharaj (72) and Vernon Philander stayed together for a 100+ partnership. At last, Ashwin bagged both the last two wickets to end with a 4-fer while Philander remained unbeaten on 44.

India now have the choice of enforcing the following-on. It is likely that they will try to get some quick runs in about three hours and then put South Africa in to bat last.

India- Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

South Africa- Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Theunis de Bruyn, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, Senuran Muthusamy, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

© Cricket World 2019