< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India name full-strength squad for New Zealand Test series

Virat Kohli (left) will lead the side.
Virat Kohli (left) will lead the side.
©REUTERS / Action images

The Indian selectors on Monday have announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against New Zealand starting later this month.

Apart from the exclusion of all-rounder Stuart Binny and fast bowler Shardul Thakur, the selectors have retained the remaining 15 members, who were part of the recently concluded Test tour of West Indies.

Both Binny and Thakur played in the second warm-up game for India against the WICB Board President's XI and managed a wicket apiece. However, they did not get a chance to feature in the four Tests against West Indies which India went on to win 2-0.

Virat Kohli, who top-scored with 251 runs from four Tests against West Indies will continue to lead the side which has three opening batsmen in Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan and Lokesh Rahul.

Cheteshwar Pujara has strengthened his place in the squad after his massive knocks of unbeaten 256 and 166 in the ongoing Duleep Trophy tournament for India Blue while Rohit Sharma also manages to find a spot in the XV.

Ravichandran Ashwin will continue to lead the spin attack which has left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja and a leg spinner Amit Mishra.

The selectors have also retained the four-man pace attack with Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshar Kumar, Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav managing to hold on to their places.

The first Test is scheduled to be played in Kanpur on 22nd September while the next two games will be played in Kolkata and Indore on 30th September and 8th October respectively.

India squad for New Zealand Test series: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, M Vijay, Umesh Yadav

© Cricket World 2016