India name unchanged Test squad for Australia series

India last lost a Test match at home in 2012
India last lost a Test match at home in 2012

The Indian selectors have retained the 16-man squad for the first two Tests of the upcoming series against Australia that begins later this month.

India are currently on a six-series winning streak under Virat Kohli and will be heading into the first Test in Pune with a lot of confidence following the 208-run victory over Bangladesh in the one-off game in Hyderabad.

The decision also means Mohammad Shami is yet to recover from the knee injury that he sustained during the Test series against England leaving Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma to handle the responsibility of pace department.

With Amit Mishra also undergoing a rehabilitation, Kuldeep Yadav has managed to retain his place along with Abhinav Mukund, who will remain as the back-up opener.

Australia will be playing in a three-day tour game against India A, which will be captained by Hardik Pandya on 16th February before they head to Pune for the first Test on 23rd February.

India squad for First Two Tests against Australia:

Virat Kohli (captain), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, M Vijay, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav

© Cricket World 2017