< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India Name Women's Squad To Tour England

Karuna Jain plays a shot during the 2013 Women's World Cup
Karuna Jain has been named as Mithali Raj's vice-captain
©International Cricket Council

India Women have named a 15-strong squad to tour England, where they will play one Test and three One-Day Internationals later this month.

Mithali Raj continues to lead the squad although Harmanpreet Kaur has been replaced as her vice-captain by Karuna Jain.

India were last in action at the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh in March and April, where they finished third in their group and then lost a qualification play-off from Pakistan.

From the squad that travelled to Bangladesh, Soniya Dabir, Latika Kumari, Madhuri Meheta, Sravanthi Naidu, Shikha Pandey, Gouher Sultana all miss out.

Into the squad come Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gaekwad, Nagarajan Niranjana, Swagathika Rath, MD Thirushkamini and Sushma Verma.

India will play a two-day warm-up game on 7th and 8th August before the Test match begins at Wormsley on 13th August.

Then, they will play a one-day warm-up match on 19th August ahead of three ODIs on 21st, 23rd and 25th August.

India Women squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Karuna Jain (vice-captain), Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gaekwad, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Nagarajan Niranjana, Swagathika Rath, Poonam Raut, Shubhalakshmi Sharma, MD Thirushkamini, VR Vanitha, Sushma Verma, Poonam Yadav

© Cricket World 2014