India Name Women's WT20 Squad

Gouher Sultana celebrates
Gouher Sultana (right) has been recalled for the ICC Women's Twenty20 in Bangladesh
©International Cricket Council

India have made several changes to their squad ahead of the ICC Women's World Twenty20, which gets underway in Bangladesh in March.

India's ICC Women's WT20 record

2009: Semi-Finalists (lost to New Zealand)
2010: Semi-Finalists (lost to Australia)
2012: Group stage

India's ICC WT20 2014 Fixtures

24th March: v Sri Lanka
26th March: v England
30th March: v Bangladesh
1st April: v West Indies

Following a disappointing 2-1 home series defeat to Sri Lanka in January and February, seven players involved in that series have dropped.

Into the squad come Latika Kumari, Madhuri Meheta, Sravanthi Naidu, Shika Pandey, Gouher Sultana and Poonam Yadav.

Missing out are Ekta Bist, Anagha Deshpande, Rajeshwari Gaekwad, Veda Krishnamurthy, Nagarajan Niranjana, Poonam Raut and Amita Sharma.

Kumari played one match during the first ICC Women's World Twenty20 in 2009 and has not played for India since.

Meheta played two One-Day Internationals and a Twenty20 International in the West Indies in 2012 and has never played an international in the sub-continent.

Left-arm spinner Naidu is, along with captain Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami and Karuna Jain one of the few players in the squad with a Test match appearance behind her, coming as far back as 2005 and she has never played a Twenty20 International.

She does, however, have 37 T20 appearances behind her and played the last of her four ODIs in 2009.

All-rounder Pandey is uncapped and called up on the back of strong performances in domestic cricket, where she has taken four wickets and scored 162 runs this season.

The experienced slow bowler Sultana returns to the squad having missed the Sri Lanka series while leg-spinner Poonam Yadav made her one and only T20 appearance for India against Bangladesh last year.

India reached the semi-finals in 2009 and 2010 before finishing at the bottom of their group in 2012 posting losses against Australia, England and Pakistan.

This time around, they play hosts Bangladesh, 2009 winners England, get a chance to avenge their series defeat to Sri Lanka, and the West Indies.

The tournament starts on 23rd March.

India ICC Women's World T20 squad: Mithali Raj (captain),Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-vaptain), Soniya Dabir, Jhulan Goswami, Karuna Jain, Latika Kumari, Smriti Mandhana, Madhuri Meheta, Sravanthi Naidu, Shikha Pandey, Shubhalakshmi Sharma, Gouher Sultana, V.R. Vanitha,  Poonam Yadav

© Cricket World 2014

Group A: Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa Group B: Bangladesh, England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies Fixtures & Results
23rd March: Australia v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 128-8 (Perkins 31) beat
Australia Women 121 (Blackwell 31) by 7 runs
23rd March: Pakistan v South Africa
South Africa Women 163-0 (van Niekerk 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 119-9 (Kapp 3-16) by 44 runs
24th March: England v West Indies
West Indies Women 133-7 (Taylor 56) beat
England Women 124-9 (Dottin 4-12) by 9 runs
24th March: India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Women 128-8 (Atapattu 43) beat
India Women 106-9 (Prabodhani 2-9) by 22 runs
25th March: Ireland v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 171-3 (Bates 68) beat
Ireland Women 129-4 (C Joyce 41no) by 41 runs
25th March: Australia v South Africa
Australia Women 116-4 (Perry 41no) beat
South Africa Women 115-9 by six wickets
26th March: Bangladesh v West Indies
West Indies Women 115 (Dottin 34) beat
Bangladesh Women 79 (Quintyne 3-5) by 36 runs
26th March: England v India
England Women 98-5 (Taylor 28) beat
India Women 95-9 (Raj 57) by five wickets
27th March: Australia v Ireland
Australia Women 191-4 (Lanning 126) beat
Ireland Women 113-7 (Perry 2-17) by 78 runs
27th March: New Zealand v Pakistan
New Zealand Women 167-3 (Bates 94no) beat
Pakistan Women 108-7 by 59 runs
28th March: Bangladesh v England
England Women 137-5 (Edwards 80) beat
Bangladesh Women 58-9 (Hazell 3-4) by 79 runs
28th March: Sri Lanka v West Indies
West Indies Women 87-2 (Taylor 56no) beat
Sri Lanka Women 84 (Daley 4-15) by 8 wickets
29th March: Ireland v South Africa
South Africa Women 165-5 (Lee 43) beat
Ireland Women 79 (Ismail 3-5) by 86 runs
29th March: Australia v Pakistan
Australia Women 185-2 (Villani 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 91-9 (Perry 3-12) by 94 runs
30th March: Bangladesh v India
India Women 151-4 (Kaur 77, Raj 41) beat
Bangladesh Women 72-8 by 79 runs
30th March: England v Sri Lanka
England Women 86-3 (Taylor 36) beat
Sri Lanka Women 85-9 by seven wickets
31st March: Ireland v Pakistan
Pakistan Women 119-6 (Bismah Maroof 48no) beat
Ireland Women 105 (A Iqbal 3-18) by 14 runs
31st March: New Zealand v South Africa
South Africa Women 116-5 (du Preez 51) beat
New Zealand Women 114-9 by 5 wickets
1st April: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Women 115-9 (R Ahmed 41) beat
Sri Lanka Women 112-9 by three runs
1st April: India v West Indies
India Women 121-1 (Raut 56, Raj 55no) beat
West Indies 117-7 (Dottin 57) by nine wickets
3rd April: Semi-Final
Australia Women 140-5 (Villani 35) beat
West Indies Women 132-4 by 8 runs
4th April: Semi-Final
England Women 102-1 (Taylor 44no) beat
South Africa Women 101 by nine wickets
6th April: Final - Australia v England
Australia Women 106-4 (Lanning 44) beat
England Women 105-8 (Coyte 3-16) by 6 wickets