India To Open Women's World Cup Against West Indies

India To Open Women's World Cup Against West Indies
India To Open Women's World Cup Against West Indies
©REUTERS / Action Images

Hosts India will get the 2013 ICC Women's World Cup underway when they take on the West Indies in the tournament's opening game at the Wankhede Stadium on 31st January.

Five-time champions Australia play Pakistan on the same day, 2009 runners-up New Zealand take on South Africa one day later and reigning champions England get their defence underway against Sri Lanka on 2nd February.

10 matches during the tournament will be broadcast, including all of India's group games and two of their Super Six Stage games. The third-fourth place play-off and final will also be broadcast.

Bet on cricket by opening an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets.

International Cricket Council (ICC) President Alan Isaac said: "The ICC Women’s World Cup is the pinnacle of women’s cricket and to have India hosting the top eight women’s sides in the one-day format is a real boost to women’s cricket in this part of the world.

"This will be the third time that India has staged the Women’s World Cup but this could be by far the most significant. I feel that we are on the verge of a massive sea change in the women’s game and where better for that to take place than in the great city of Mumbai.

"I would like to thank Star Cricket for the backing we receive and I am delighted that they are committed to screening 10 of the ICC Women’s World Cup matches live and so will spread the gospel of the women’s game around the globe."

ICC Women's World Cup 2013

Group A: England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4)
Group B: Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4)


28th January: India v West Indies, India v South Africa, West Indies v Australia, New Zealand v Sri Lanka
29th January: India v Australia, West Indies v New Zealand
30th January: Sri Lanka v South Africa, England v New Zealand

Tournament Schedule

31st January: India v West Indies, Australia v Pakistan
1st February: New Zealand v South Africa
2nd February: England v Sri Lanka
3rd February: New Zealand v Pakistan
4th February: India v England, Sri Lanka v West Indies
5th February: Pakistan v South Africa, Australia v New Zealand
6th February: India v Sri Lanka, England v West Indies

Super Six Stage (team retain their ranking i.e. A1, A2 regardless of final group placing. If, for example, Sri Lanka qualifies instead of England, they would assume the A1 ranking)

9th February: A2 v B2, A3 v B3, A1 v B1, A4 v B4
11th February: A3 v B2, A2 v B1, A1 v B3
13th February: A3 v B1, A1 v B2, A2 v B3
15th February: 5th-6th place play-off, 3rd-4th place play-off
17th February: Final

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.