India Opt For Youth In Champions Trophy Squad

India Opt For Youth In Champions Trophy Squad
India Opt For Youth In Champions Trophy Squad
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

India have not selected senior players Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh or Zaheer Khan in their list of probables for the ICC Champions Trophy, which will be played in England this June. Instead, they have opted for younger players such as Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand and Jammu & Kashmir off-spinner Parvez Rasool.

There are also a couple of other notable exclusions, with impressive Test number three Cheteshwar Pujara apparently not deemed suitable for limited-overs cricket and left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha’s weak batting and fielding seemingly counting against him.

Besides Chand and Rasool, there are several other rising stars of Indian cricket included. Aggressive batsmen Ambati Rayudu and Kedar Jadhav make the cut, with Dinesh Karthik and Wriddhiman Saha recalled as wicket-keeping back-up for captain MS Dhoni. In the bowling department, spinner Amit Mishra is included as is all-rounder Irfan Pathan. There is also room for the two leading wicket-takers in the 2012-13 Ranji Trophy, Ishwar Pandey and Siddarth Kaul, as well as off-spinning all-rounder Jalaj Saxena.

India provisional squad: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav, Shami Ahmed, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Ishwar Pandey, Siddarth Kaul.

© Cricket World 2013




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia