< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India plug T20 loopholes to bag series 2-1 against West Indies in Mumbai

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma 71 today for India

There were a few areas in which India had been lacking in T20Is but the team set the record straight to emerge victorious in the series decider at Mumbai's iconic Wankhede Stadium.

Full Scorecard

Match Summary

Live InPlay

India 240-3 (20 Overs; Rahul91(56), Rohit71(34); Kesrick Williams1/37, Cottrell1/40)

West Indies 173-8 (20 Overs; Pollard(c)68(39), Hetmyer41(24); Chahar2/20, Shami2/25)

Result - India won by 67 runs

It was an uphill task for Kohli & Co when they lost the toss. It becomes a huge ask to defend even a 200-run total in Mumbai, where the dew blunts the bowling attack.

To offset that, India went hammer and tongs from the word go with Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul adding 72 runs in the powerplay itself. The two had a 135-run partnership.

Virat Kohli joined the party later. With boundaries flowing all through the innings, it helped the team to a mammoth 240-run total. Kesrick Williams and Hayden Walsh were the pick of the bowlers for West Indies.

With Evin Lewis having injured his knee while fielding, Brandon King came out to open the batting with Lendl Simmons. Apart from Shimron Hetmyer and Kieron Pollard who played some breathtaking shots, two wickets each from Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav meant that West Indies could never really take aim at the target with a stable base.

The visitors fell 67 runs short at the end. With this win, India bagged the series 2-1.

India - Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami

West Indies - Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder, Khary Pierre, Hayden Walsh, Sheldon Cottrell, Kesrick Williams

©Cricket World 2019