< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India recall Karthik, Thakur and Dhawan for New Zealand ODIs

Dinesh Karthik scored two centuries in three games in Duleep Trophy
Dinesh Karthik scored two centuries in three games in Duleep Trophy

Indian selectors have recalled wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik and opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan for the upcoming three-match One-Day International series against New Zealand which begins later this month.

Karthik was a part of the Indian squad during the Champions Trophy tournament in England and also the ODI series against West Indies that followed in July but was left out for the series against Australia. He had a prolific season in the Duleep Trophy where he scored two centuries from three matches.

Meanwhile, Dhawan, who had sought leave for the Australia ODIs to be with his ill wife also returns to the squad in the place of Lokesh Rahul.

Rahul had a poor outing in the ODI series in Sri Lanka and as a result was benched for the three games against Australia, though he is expected to return to the Test squad when India host Sri Lanka next month.

Also returning to the squad is Mumbai seamer Shardul Thakur, who has a solitary wicket from two ODIs that he played against Sri Lanka while Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav were left out.

The selectors have also retained the successful spin trio of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel while Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja continue to remain on the sidelines.

The three match ODI series will be played between 22nd and 29th October following which the two teams will compete in three Twenty20 Internationals.

India squad for ODI series against New Zealand:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.

© Cricket World 2017