< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India recall Suresh Raina for T20I series against South Africa

Suresh Raina has made a comeback into the T20I squad
Suresh Raina has made a comeback into the T20I squad

India have recalled senior middle-order batsman Suresh Raina for the upcoming Twenty20 International series against South Africa.

Raina, who last played for India in the format in February last year has been in prolific form in the domestic T20 tournament where he scored a century and two fifties in the last four games.

Virat Kohli, who was rested for the series against Sri Lanka returns to captain the side along with Shikhar Dhawan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Both Dhawan and Kumar missed the series against Sri Lanka for personal reasons but now will add more experience to the 16-man squad.

Surprisingly, the selectors have opted for a third spinner in Axar Patel, who will join the likes of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav while Shardul Thakur was also recalled after picking five wickets from four games in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Shreyas Iyer, who made his ODI debut against Sri Lanka in which he scored two fifties from three games has been left out of the squad along with Basil Thampi, Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Siraj and Washington Sundar.

The three-match series will be played between 18th and 24th February with Johannesburg, Centurion and Cape Town being the venues.

India T20I squad:

Virat Kohli (capt) Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur

© Cricket World 2018