India Reclaim Top T20I Ranking

India might have lost the ICC World Twenty20 final to Sri Lanka, but they have moved above in the T20I rankings
India might have lost the ICC World Twenty20 final to Sri Lanka, but they have moved above them in the T20I rankings
©REUTERS / Action Images

India have returned to the top of the ICC Twenty20 International rankings, replacing ICC World Twenty20 2014 champions Sri Lanka.

ICC T20I Rankings

1. India 131 points
2. Sri Lanka 130
3. Pakistan 123
4. South Africa 121
5. Australia 112
6. New Zealand 110
7. West Indies 110
8. England 97
9. Ireland 87
10. Bangladesh 72
11. Netherlands 68
12. Afghanistan 62
13. Zimbabwe 52
14. Scotland 51

Not ranked

Nepal 63
Hong Kong 30
United Arab Emirates 0

Although Sri Lanka won the recent World Twenty20 competition in Bangladesh, beating India in the final, they drop one place in the rankings.

India's defeat in the final was their only defeat in the past 12 months whereas Sri Lanka lost four matches.

After the annual update, their strong form between 2011 and 2013 now carries less weight.

ICC World Twenty20 2012 champions the West Indies have dropped two places from fifth to seventh, allowing Australia and New Zealand to move up the rankings.

The rankings now take into account all matches since 1st August 2011 and 14 teams have played a minimum of three matches to gain a ranking.

Nepal, Hong Kong and the United Arab Emirates have yet to play sufficient matches to enter the rankings, although they are given a provisional rating.

The top eight sides in the rankings - India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, and England - have automatically qualified for the Super 10 stage of the ICC World Twenty20 2016 in India.

Ireland and Bangladesh, by virtue of their rankings of ninth and 10th, as well as Full Member Zimbabwe, qualify for the initial qualification stage.

The remaining five spots to be taken up by those who win through from the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 in Ireland and Scotland.

This will be the opportunity for Afghanistan, Hong Kong, the Netherlands, Scotland and the UAE, as well as the likes of Canada, Kenya, Namibia, and Papua New Guinea to qualify and try to make as much of an impact as Hong Kong did when they beat Bangladesh, or the Netherlands, when they beat Ireland and then England.

© Cricket World 2014