< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India register sixth consecutive series victory

Ravindra Jadeja picked a four-wicket haul in the final innings
Ravindra Jadeja picked a four-wicket haul in the final innings

India 687-6 dec & 159-4 dec (Pujara 54no) beat
Bangladesh 388 & 250 (Mahmudullah 64) by 208 runs
Only Test, Hyderabad, day five

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin picked four wickets apiece as India bowled out Bangladesh for 250 in the final innings to secure a massive 208-run victory in the only Test between the two teams in Hyderabad.

The win also meant India have stretched their consecutive series victory to six which is their best so far.

Bangladesh started the day at 103 for three, needing another 356 runs to win. In the third over of the day, Jadeja (4-78) produced a beauty off the rough to have Shakib Al Hasan (22) caught at short leg.

With the ball beginning to reverse, Mahmudullah (64) and Mushfiqur Rahim (23) tried to savage a fight with a 56-run stand.

India got the ball changed after it went out of the shape and it immediately paid dividends when Rahim went after Ashwin (4-73) and holed out to mid off.

Bangladesh went into lunch at 202 for five with Mahmudullah holding one end tight and had Sabbir Rahman (22) at the other end.

With Indian skipper Virat Kohli preferring a seamer-spinner combination, Ishant Sharma (2-40) produced a blinder of a spell where he trapped Sabbir LBW and had Mahmudullah caught at deep fine leg in quick succession.

Things could have been even better for the lanky pacer had Murali Vijay taken a straightforward catch in the slips off Mehedi Hasan (23).

After a lot of resistance from the lower order which batted almost 24 overs, Jadeja had Mehedi caught behind and few overs later, Taijul went after the left-arm spinner and was caught by Lokesh Rahul.

Ashwin also completed his four-wicket haul when he trapped the final batsman, Taskin Ahmed (1) LBW. India had to use a review to overturn the decision leading to a massive 208-run win.

Kohli was awarded the player of the match for his double century in the first innings as India enjoyed another series victory at home.

© Cricket World 2017