< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India rest Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni for T20I Tri-Series in Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli (left) and MS Dhoni will miss the Tri-Series in Sri Lanka
Virat Kohli (left) and MS Dhoni will miss the Tri-Series in Sri Lanka

India have decided to rest skipper Virat Kohli and wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni for the upcoming Twenty20 International Tri-Series in Sri Lanka.

Kohli, who has been in stupendous form in South Africa where he scored three centuries and a fifty in the six-game One-Day International series missed out on the deciding final T20I against the Proteas with a stiff back.

In the absence of Kohli, Rohit Sharma will lead the squad while Delhi's Rishabh Pant has been given an opportunity to test his mettle at the international level with Dinesh Karthik included as the second wicket-keeper.

The selectors have also decided to rest pace duo Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar along with all-rounder Hardik Pandya and wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav following a gruelling long-tour of South Africa.

Tamil Nadu all-rounders Washington Sundar and Vijay Shankar along with hard hitting batsman Deepak Hooda and pace bowler Mohammad Siraj have been given a chance.

The series that also involves Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will be played between 6th and 18th March with all the games scheduled at R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

India squad for Tri-Series:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper)

© Cricket World 2018