India Ring The Changes For ICC Champions Trophy

India Ring The Changes For ICC Champions Trophy
India Ring The Changes For ICC Champions Trophy
©REUTERS/Punit Paranjpe. Picture Supplied by Action Images

India have made wholesale changes to their ODI squad for the ICC Champions Trophy, which will be held in England next month. Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Ashok Dinda, Shami Ahmed and Ajinkya Rahane have all been dropped from the 15-man squad that beat England 3-2 in a five-match series in January.

In their places come Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav and Vinay Kumar, while Murali Vijay replaces the injured Cheteshwar Pujara.

The axing of Gambhir and Yuvraj is the big news, with the former dropped after scoring just 161 runs in his last eight ODIs, and the latter omitted after hitting only one half-century in his previous eight matches. Rahane also played poorly against England, totalling only 55 runs in four matches. 

Dinda, meanwhile, has seemingly paid the price for his poor form in this season’s Indian Premier League, while Shami Ahmed makes way for the return of Umesh Yadav from a back injury. Vinay Kumar, who last played for India in July before being ruled out with a hamstring injury, and Irfan Pathan, who last represented India in the ICC World Tweny20 in October before picking up a knee injury, complete India’s pace quintet for the tournament.

Dhawan earns a place in the squad off the back of a strong showing in the Test series against Australia and a solid IPL, while Karthik is rewarded for a strong domestic season for Tamil Nadu and is the back-up gloveman to MS Dhoni.

India play in the tournament opener against South Africa on 6th June in Cardiff and are in Group B, which also includes Pakistan and the West Indies.

India squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma. 

© Cricket World 2013




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia