India seek turnaround when they face Bangladesh - 2nd T20I Preview

Mahmudullah will lead Bangladesh in the upcoming tri-series
Mahmudullah will lead Bangladesh in the upcoming tri-series

Game: 2nd Twenty20 International, Bangladesh v India, Nidahas Trophy
Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Timings: 01:30 PM GMT, 07:00 PM local

Having suffered a defeat in the opening game of the Nidahas Trophy against Sri Lanka, India will hope to bounce back when they face Bangladesh in the second game at R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Thursday.

The early loss of Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina did not help India's cause while Manish Pandey and Rishabh Pant struggled to up the ante and it was Shikhar Dhawan, who singlehandedly took the responsibility with a 49-ball 90 run knock. This will be a test to the new-look Indian squad without Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya, while the absence of Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar was felt as the likes of Shardul Thakur and Jaydev Unadkat, struggled to contain Kusal Perera. Even though the spinners Washington Sundar and Yuzvendra Chahal did pull back things a bit, the total wasn't enough to exert pressure on the Sri Lankan middle order especially after an early blitz from Kusal.

Bangladesh are coming from back to back defeats against Sri Lanka in the two-match T20I series and will have to deal with the absence of their ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and on his absence Mahmudullah will lead them once again. Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim will hold the key in the absence of Shakib but the lack of fire power down the order except for Sabbir Rahman might be a factor for them to deal with. On the bowling front, Bangladesh will pin their hopes on the experienced duo of Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain while Mehedi Hasan will have to take up the responsibility of being the ace spinner.

Head to Head Record: Bangladesh have never won a T20I game against India having played them five times previously.

Probable Team:

India: 1. Rohit Sharma (captain), 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Suresh Raina, 4. Manish Pandey, 5. Dinesh Karthik (wk), 6. Rishabh Pant 7. Washington Sundar, 8. Vijay Shankar, 9. Jaydev Unadkat, 10. Mohammad Siraj, 11. Yuzvendra Chahal

Bangladesh: 1. Tamim Iqbal, 2. Soumya Sarkar, 3. Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 4. Sabbir Rahman, 5. Mahmudullah (c), 6. Ariful Haque, 7. Mehedi Hasan, 8. Rubel Hossain, 9. Mustafizur Rahman, 10. Abu Jayed, 11. Nazmul Islam

Prediction: India will be looking turn around their opening defeat to hosts Sri Lanka on Tuesday. Our prediction is an India win and for all your latest online cricket betting tips you can go to our Cricket Betting news section.

© Cricket World 2018