< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

India showcase chasing masterclass in 7-wicket win over Sri Lanka at Leeds

ICC Cricket World Cup - Sri Lanka v India - Headingley, Leeds, Britain - July 6, 2019 India's Virat Kohli embraces Rohit Sharma after the match

Chasing has been a nightmare for teams in this World Cup, but it didn't seem to be the case at all when Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul were at the crease as India cruised to a seven-wicket win over Sri Lanka, with more than six overs to spare.

Match Summary 

Sri Lanka 264-7 (50 Overs) [Mathews 113(128), Thirimanne 53(68); Bumrah 3/37, Jadeja 1/40]

India 265-3
(43.3 Overs) [Rahul 111(118), Rohit 103(94); Udana 1/50, Rajitha 1/47]

Result- India won by 7 wickets


Full Match Highlights

Sri Lanka won the toss and as any team would have done in the World Cup at the moment, chose to bat first. Their decision did not seem to pan out right as Jasprit Bumrah struck twice in his first spell to remove both Sri Lankan openers, who have done the bulk of scoring for them in the tournament till now.

Centurion of the last match, Avishka Fernando then scored a few boundaries but Hardik Pandya soon removed him, succeeding the dismissal of Kusal Mendis, as Sri Lanka were left tottering at 55-4.

A 100 + stand between centurion Angelo Mathews and Lahiru Thirimanne ensured that Sri Lanka had something respectable for their bowlers to defend. Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the Indian bowlers and bagged three scalps, while giving away just 37 runs.

The chase began with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma looking completely at ease as both notched up centuries and, with some assistance from skipper Virat Kohli, India achieved the target without breaking a sweat.

This was Rohit's third century in a row and 5th in this World Cup. With a total of six centuries in World Cups, he has now equaled the record of Sachin Tendulkar.

This match also marks the last World Cup game of legend Lasith Malinga, who ends among the all-time top five wicket-takers in World Cups.

Sri Lanka- Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lasith Malinga

India- Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

©Cricket World 2019