< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

India take 3-0 lead amid Williamson masterclass & another NZ Super Over heartbreak

What is it with New Zealand and Super Overs? Thrice within a year, the team has found itself in a deciding situation and fallen short each time.

India 179-5 (20 Overs; Rohit65(40), Kohli(c)38(27); Bennett3/54, de Grandhomme1/13)

New Zealand 179-6 (20 Overs; Williamson(c)95(48), Guptill31(21); SN Thakur2/21, Shami2/32)

Result - India win in super over

Full Scorecard

Full Live match InPlay coverage

After New Zealand won the toss and put India in to bat first, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul got them off to a cracking start, with the team posting 89 runs within the first nine overs.

However, this is when the ball began to get softer and the course of the game began to change. Rohit, Rahul and Shivam Dube - who was promoted at No. 3 - all departed in quick intervals.

Virat Kohli remained at the crease for a while but could not accelerate as much as he would have liked as India reached just about a par score of 179.

Hamish Bennett, despite getting some tap in his first spell, came back strongly to pick up three wickets and bring the Kiwis back into the game. Scott Kuggeleijn and Ish Sodhi were also economical.

After both New Zealand openers Martin Guptill and Colin Munro departed relatively early, it was skipper Kane Williamson who took charge. Williamson did not receive great support from any fellow batsman but with 95 off 48 deliveries, he had almost done enough to keep New Zealand alive in the series.

Against the run of play, Shami dismissed Williamson on the third ball of the last over with New Zealand needing four off the last three deliveries. As it turned out, the scores were level and the teams went into a super over.

Bumrah, who did not have a good day, conceded 17. India required 10 off the last two deliveries and Rohit Sharma sealed it for them with consecutive sixes off Tim Southee.


New Zealand - Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson, Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Tim Seifert, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ish Sodhi, Hamish Bennett

India - Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

©Cricket World 2020