India Take Victory Despite Defiant Collingwood

India 324-6 (Yuvraj 72, Tendulkar 71, Ganguly 59, Gambhir 51) v England 242-8 (Collingwood 91no, Ganguly 2-12) India won by 38 runs (D/L): England lead the seven-match series 3-2 India wrapped up a 38-run win in the fifth one-day international at Headingley, after rain curtailed the match. India were pole position when a third rain break ended proceedings with England on 242 for 8 chasing 311 to win with 6 overs remaining. The result means England now lead the NatWest series 3-2 with two games to play. Paul Collingwood remained unbeaten on a defiant, brilliant 91 from 71 balls but with little support, England's run chase lurched from crisis to crisis, in which Mahendra Singh Dhoni claimed five catches and a stumping and Ajit Agarkar, man of the match Saurav Ganguly and Piyush Chawla two wickets apiece. Owais Shah and Ravi Bopara were swiftly dismissed after the first rain break, both falling to off-spinner Ramesh Powar. However hopeless the situation may have looked, Paul Collingwood then took a distinct liking to Sachin Tendulkar's bowing, hitting three sixes and then a four to get to his fifty and just about keep England in the hunt, although with the asking rate above 11 an over, it would have to have been some rescue act with only James Anderson and Monty Panesar for company. Collingwood hit three fours and four sixes in his knock, the first half-century he had registered in a one-day international as captain. Matt Prior (46) and Ian Bell (44) had got England off to a good start before Saurav Ganguly took both their wickets, with Alastair Cook falling to Ajit Agarkar for two and Kevin Pietersen dismissed by Zaheer Khan for a duck. Earlier, Tendulkar hit 71 as he and Ganguly put on an opening partnership of 116, before Yuvraj Singh and Gautam Gambhir carried on from where they left off, to put England under pressure. England had made a good start themselves, openers Anderson and Jon Lewis, in for the injured Andrew Flintoff, bowling consecutive maidens before Tendulkar's assault. He hit seven fours and two sixes before Lewis had him caught by Prior in the 20th over. Ganguly was dismissed by Panesar having made 59 from 78 balls with India handily placed at 150 for 2 after 27 overs. Everything was going India's way, as shortly after, Gautam Gambhir was dropped by Kevin Pietersen, Yuvraj Singh scored his 5,000th one-day international run with a boundary, and was given not out when he appeared to edge behind from Panesar. Both men passed their fifties before Gambhir was dismissed, caught off of the bowling of Stuart Broad for 51. Yuvraj made 72 from 57 balls before Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rahul Dravid returned figures of 24 runs from 17 balls as India passed 300 for the second time in the series. England, shorn of the services of Andrew Flintoff, opted to bowl first as India brought in an extra batsman in Gambhir with RP Singh making way. England lead the series 3-1 and Jon Lewis is the like for like replacement for Andrew Flintoff, who was struggling with an ankle injury prior to the match. Zaheer Khan was a doubt for India, but he has been passed fit and will play. Paul Collingwood won the toss, the first time he has done so in the series, and elected to bowl, perhaps encouraged by England's performance chasing at Old Trafford. England: Alastair Cook, Matt Prior (wk), Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood (c), Owais Shah, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Jon Lewis, James Anderson, Monty Panesar India: Saurav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh Karthik, Rahul Dravid (c), Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Ajit Agarkar, Ramesh Powar, Piyush Chawla, Zaheer Khan John Pennington © Cricket World 2007