India To Host Champions League Twenty20 2013

India To Host Champions League Twenty20 2013
India To Host Champions League Twenty20 2013

The Champions League Twenty20 will return to India for the 2013 edition of the high profile Twenty20 tournament in September and October of this year.

India will host the tournament, won in 2012 by Sydney Sixers when it was held in South Africa, for the third time in five years, from 17th September to 6th October.

A total of 29 matches will be played by participating teams from Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies, all aiming for a share of the $US 6 million prize fund.

As the competition clashes with the end of their domestic season, England will not be sending any representatives and as in previous years, a qualifying tournament will be held to whittle down the competitors to two groups of five.

The fourth-placed Indian Premier League team, Otago Volts (New Zealand's champions), Sri Lanka's champions and Pakistan's champions will compete and two will progress to the group stage.

Group A will comprise the teams that finish first and third in the IPL 2013, Highveld Lions (South Africa's champions), Perth Scorchers (Australia's runners-up) and the top team from the qualifer.

Group B will include the runners-up in the IPL 2013, Brisbane Heat (Australia's champion), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies champions), Nashua Titans (South Africa's runners-up) and the second team from the qualifier.

Each team will play the other teams in its group once before the winners of Group A take on the runners-up in Group B and vice-versa in the semi-finals.

The final will be held on 6th October

New South Wales (2009), Chennai Super Kings (2010), Mumbai Indians (2011) and Sydney Sixers (2012) are the previous winners of the tournament.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.